A 2 Week Recap

In my life this the past 2 week(s)…
It’s been a crazy, busy two weeks.  I really did sit down last weekend and start my journal for the week.  And then I got called away for something and well, I never finished it.  So now I am recapping for 2 weeks, which I, honestly, have a hard time remembering sometimes.  We enjoyed our visit with my mom weekend before last.  It’s always good to see her, however, as always, the kids were not ready to see her go.  I continue to be thankful that the Lord saw fit to move us back to SC a few years ago so that we can see family more often.
 
 Despite the fact that I often tend to over commit myself, both weeks went well.  They rolled along with our normal activities sprinkled with the fun of babysitting a sweet 6 month old three days over the span of two weeks.  I have always admired my friends with many children.  I now have a new appreciation for those who homeschool with a wide variety of ages.  Friday the 11th we took the day off from school to attend a ballet.  We took three of Leah’s friends with us to see Robin Hood.  It was presented by the Columbia Classical Ballet and was really good.  After the ballet, we grabbed lunch and headed to a park to eat and to have a little time on the playground.  Oh and I treated the girls to Krispy Kreme on the way to the ballet and to a Frosty from Wendy’s for each of them after playing on the playground.  They loved it but their mom’s may never let me take them for the day again.  {{smile}}
 
Last Saturday was spent with the whole family working the yard.  We have a long way to go but great progress was made.  Today we spent the morning at church in a training session for Billy Graham’s “My Hope America” that our church is participating in.  The rest of the day has been spent with a little of this and that.
 
In our homeschool this the past 2 week(s)…
I decided that our school work needed to not take place all over the house.  I think our week went better.  We seemed to stay focused and get things accomplished at a better pace.  It is taking some adjusting but it’s working.
 
Wyatt has finished To Kill a Mockingbird and is moving on to Jane Eyre in English.  In Geography, he is studying Australia.  He’s doing Rosetta Stone Spanish this year and really doing well with it.
 
Leah is still loving Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  She’s learning all about thousands and their place value in math and we are studying explorers in History.  She also studied very hard for an upcoming Latin test at co-op.  This is how we found her the night before the test.
 
leah sleeping
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
We use Quizlet.com to make flash cards when we need help studying.  It’s a great resource.
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Robin Hood ballet.  Dinner with friends to celebrate the husband’s birthday.
 
My favorite thing this the past 2 week(s)…
A chance to talk to a friend from KY on the phone.  We don’t get that chance often so it was nice to chat and catch up.
 
My kiddos favorite thing this the past 2 week(s)…
Babysitting.
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
Is it too early to start thinking about curriculum for next year? 
 
Things I’m working on…
An update to my blog.  Coming VERY soon. 
 
I’m reading …
Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas
 
I’m cooking…
Crockpot Lemon Chicken, Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes, Hamburger Steaks with Brown Gravy, and these:
 
apple cinn rolls
Easy Caramel Apple Cinnamon Rolls (I didn’t have the stuff for the caramel sauce so I made a powdered sugar glaze and they were delicious).  And they look really messy but they were REALLY good.  All of these recipes can be found on my “So Yummy!!! (now in our family recipe box)” board on Pinterest.
 
I’m grateful for…
Life.  My children.  My husband.  The grace and mercy of Jesus.
 
I’m praying for…
Two elementary age boys in our church whose dad was killed in a car accident this week. 
  
A photo, video, link, or a quote to share…
I am working my way through Psalms in my Bible study time right now and as I do, I am writing down the attributes of God.  As I came to Psalm 18 this week, I was a little more creative in writing them down.  This is the result:
 
attributes
 
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal  and Homeschool Review
 
HSMJ link up
 
Joy to You!
signature
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

