B is for ………..

bible

Bible

 
I am reading Lit! A Christian Guide to Reading Books by Tony Reinke.   This is an excellent book that gives a new and different perspective — or at least it’s new and different for me — to reading all types of literature from a Biblical view.  He goes on to share the history of God’s Word.  How important it is.  How relevant it is.  Reinke says, “in the world of books, the Bible is without equal.”  And then he goes on to list six of the qualities of of the Bible.  I thought this was a great list to share for the letter B as I “Blog through the Alphabet”, so here goes.  According to Reinke, the Bible is:
  • INSPIRED ~ it is a product of God’s will
  • INERRANT ~ it is true in everything that it teaches
  • SUFFICIENT ~ it provides everything we need for faith, salvation, and godly living
  • LIVING AND ACTIVE ~ it is composed of living and active words that revive dead hearts, rejoice broken hearts, and feed hungry souls
  • SUPREME ~  it contains the highest expressions of truth
  • offers us a COHERENT WORLDVIEW ~ it explains where we came from, where we are going, our biggest problems, and our greatest need
(qualities further explained on page 25 of  Lit! A Christian Guide to Reading Books)
 
Reinke says that “all literature can be divided into two genres:  the Bible and all other books.”  He also says that, “Scripture is the ultimate grid by which we read every book.”
 
Have you ever thought of it that way?  Have you ever read a novel, not labeled as specifically Christian, and considered it through the lens of Scripture?  Personally, I’ve not done this very often.  As I grow in my walk with the Lord, I have begun to do this more but it’s definitely a work in progress for me.
 
As I read through Tony Reinke’s book, I may share more about what he has to say.  I hope you don’t mind.  It’s just too good not to share. AND as I read the Bible, I will definitely share.  
 
For now, I wish Joy to You!

signature

            6341b-bloggingthroughthealphabetsm

                                             I’m linking this post up with Benandme.com
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

