What are you seeking?

Mon_meditations_revd
 
This is the question that has stuck with me from our pastor’s sermon yesterday.  He read from John 1:35-42
 

 In verse 38 Jesus himself asks this question to Andrew and Simon, who became Peter.   They answer Him with a question, inquiring where He was staying.   He invites them to “come and you will see”.

   So what does it mean to seek?

  The dictionary definition is:

 

To go in search or quest of.   To try to find or discover by searching or questioning.  To try to obtain.  

This brought to mind more than one scripture:

Jeremiah 29:13 ~ You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.

1 Chronicles 16:11 ~ Seek the LORD and his strength; seek his presence continually!

Deuteronomy 4:29 ~ …you will seek the LORD your God and you will find him, if you search after him with all your heart and with all your soul.

So I wonder, do I seek after Jesus?  Do I make the effort to see what He is doing?  Especially in the lives of others. Think of all I miss because I do not intentionally seek.

This week, as I read and meditate on His Word, I am going to “seek” Him.  Hopefully you will go and do the same.

Joy to you!

signature

 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

