Attributes of God

Have you ever sat down and listed all the attributes of God? It’s a mind-boggling task.

But it doesn’t have to be.

Yesterday I finished a Bible reading plan.  It was one of those “read the Bible in a year”.   It took me 21 months. {{smile}}

Anyway, as I began to think about what my intentional Bible reading would be now that I’ve read through the whole Bible, I remembered an exercise I did several years ago.  I am not sure where I got this idea but the thought is to read five Psalms a day and make a list of the attributes if God as you read.

I made a notebook.  Labeled the pages with the number of the Psalm and even gave myself a little help with the other psalms I am to read that day.  Remember, it’s five per day!

attribute of God

Today I started at the beginning with Psalm 1.  The four corresponding ones are 31, 61, 91, and 121.  There is so much packed into these five Psalms.  He is:

  • my rock
  • my fortress
  • the God of truth
  • my redeemer
  • merciful to me
  • the giver of unfailing love
  • good
  • a preserver of the faithful
  • a  strong tower
  • gives me a heritage
  • the giver of rest
  • love
  • salvation
  • my shade at my right hand

What a comfort to read and record the attributes of God.  To meditate on them.  I think I’ll do this for a while.  At least for a month while I read through all the Psalms.

I’d love to hear your favorite attribute of God.

Joy to You!

signature

 

 

 

This post is linked up with Ben and Me as I join others in “Blogging Through the Alphabet”

4 thoughts on “Attributes of God

  1. Pingback: F & G | Living My Portion

  2. Pingback: U is for….. | Living My Portion

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

