A Glimpse of Heaven

On Saturday I found out that Ms. Patsy, a dear and sweet lady that I’ve know since childhood, passed away.  I was friends with her daughter and spent a lot of time at her house. Over the years, every time I thought of her, I smiled.  It seemed right because she was always smiling.

Hearing of her family’s great loss brought tears to my eyes.  As I’ve seen comments written to the family on Facebook, I’ve had to wipe a tear or two.  Such sweet words.  Honoring and edifying.  Her funeral is today. I can not go.  I live too far away but I thought of her early this morning.

And then, I opened God’s Word.  I’m doing a “read through the Bible plan” and it had me in Revelation 21 this morning.  Verses 3 & 4:

And I heard a loud voice from the throne saying, “Behold, the dwelling place of God is with man. He will dwell with them, and they will be his people, and God himself will be with them as their God.  He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and death shall be no more, neither shall there be mourning, nor crying, nor pain anymore, for the former things have passed away.”

Verse 4 really stuck out to me.  I immediately thought of Ms. Patsy.  I thought of how she is whole and not in pain in heaven.  I thought of the rejoicing that must be going on as she stands before the God of the universe.  And I smiled…..as I wiped away a tear.  What a beautiful assurance that there is coming a day when we will not mourn.  We will not cry.  We will be free of pain — both physical and emotional.  We will not have to worry or be concerned with the things that weigh us down.  This is why I have hope.  This is why I am so thankful for my salvation.

Verse 3 is cool too!  Just the thought of dwelling with Him should be enough to get us excited about the day we leave this world and begin eternity in heaven.

So today, as my sweet friend says good-bye to her mom.  I am thankful for Ms. Patsy and the impact that she had on so many.  And I am thankful for God’s Word and the little glimpse of heaven that He gave me on a day that I needed to see it.

Joy to You!

signature

4 thoughts on “A Glimpse of Heaven

  1. your insights are always such an encouragement to me, but this one is particularly timely. my mom’s birthday is coming up on the 21st and the anniversary of her death in early Nov. both dates weigh heavy on my heart, so this was just what I needed to read. thank you, sweet friend. love you so much.

    Like

    • You will be in my prayers especially for this in the coming weeks. Having just gone through my dad’s birthday and the anniversary of his death within weeks of each other, I know how difficult those days are. Love you too!

      Like

  2. Lovely blog with lots of scripture shared! My favorite kind of blog. Scripture rarely leaves us wanting. You left a kind note on my blog today and I wanted to stop and visit and say thank you. Saying a prayer just now for both of you re grief. It’s such a hard road.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

