Enter His Gates (A meditation)

Mon_meditations_revd

Back in July, I wrote about having a heart of worship (you can read about it here).  Yesterday, our pastor taught from Psalm 100 about worship.

Make a joyful noise to the LORD, all the earth! Serve the LORD with gladness! Come into his presence with singing! Know that the LORD, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his, we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture. Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name! For the LORD is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.

As I read, or I should say re-read, Psalm 100 it was like meeting up with an old friend.  It’s a familiar passage.  I learned it as a child.  But yesterday, I learned that it can bring me to a state of worship.  You may be thinking “well of course it does”.  I should know that, right?  Maybe somewhere in the recesses of my mind, I’ve thought this before.  Maybe not.  The pastor was talking about Who, Why and How we worship.  All good points.  All necessary to contemplate periodically as we are on this journey called the Christian walk.

But as I got to verse 4 “enter his gates………..” it hit me.  Entering his “gates” is when I come to worship Him.  The creator of the universe.  The author of life.  The savior of the world.  And I can — or I should say — He invites me, to “enter His gates”.  Wow!!!

What should I do when I enter?  Make a joyful noise, i.e…praise!  Serve….and do so with a happy, loving, humble heart.  Sing!  Even if I can’t really carry a tune.  Be thankful.  Bless His name.

This is really so simple.  And yet, it requires much.

I pray that from now on, I “enter His gates” differently.  May you also do the same.

Joy to you!

signature

 

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

