Our Week in Review (9/27/13)

In my life this week…
We had company last weekend which was a wonderful treat to see good friends.  They spent most of the day on Saturday with their college age son and called to let us know that they were about an hour away. As time got closer for them to arrive, Wyatt discovered that the mouse from last week, had been building a nest in his closet.  Our guests arrived to find the contents of Wyatt’s closet and things he had under his bed piled on one end of our school room.   I’m happy to report that we caught the mouse Saturday morning.  Yay!!
 
On a more pleasant note, I ended up with not one but two evenings out this week.  Both were a special treat.  On Monday night, I had the pleasure of having dinner with a dear friend.  It was nice to spend some time relaxing and chatting.  On Tuesday night, I was given a ticket to go see Kirk Cameron’s Unstoppable.  That was a real treat.  There will be another showing of it across the country, in select theaters, this coming Thursday night, October 3rd.  If you did not get to see it, or don’t know what it’s all about, you can get more info here on Kirk Cameron’s website.   
 
Violin lessons also started back this week for Wyatt.  I just love to hear him practice.
 
In our homeschool this week…
Leah presented her Sarah Plain and Tall project at co-op on Monday.  She made a movie poster to present to her class.
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
We’ve now moved onto Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.  Her assignment this week was to read the first five chapters.  She liked it so much that she read the whole book.  I love that she loves to read.
 
Wyatt has been working on his Africa map project that will be presented next week at co-op.  He made animals to go along with his presentation.
 
africa animals
 
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
We took a family field trip yesterday but I will write more about that next week.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Dinner with my friend on Monday evening.
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
I just discovered that I am the highlighted blogger for the week over at The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.  What a treat!  
 
 Things I’m working on…
Because of the mouse, I spent a lot of time cloroxing my counters.  I need to do a good wash down of all the drawers and cabinets in the kitchen.  Maybe next week.
 
I’m cooking…
I made a childhood favorite this week – cube steak.  We don’t have it often but on occasion I crave it and it was really good.
 
I’m grateful for…
Friends that I can really talk to, sharing my heart and knowing that she will not pass judgment or discuss what we talked about with others!
 
I’m continuing to pray for…
Friends and family facing health issues.
 
A photo, video, link, or a quote to share…
During the live Unstoppable event on Tuesday night.  Warren Barfield sang a beautiful song.  It’s called “The Time is Now”.  Click here to see the YouTube video of it.
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal  and Homeschool Review
 
HSMJ link up
 
Joy to You!
 
robin2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Our Week in Review (9/27/13)

  1. Both Leah and Wyatt are great artists—very creative! At Leah’s age I would have loved to make such posters for all my favorite books. Come to think of it, I might start now 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

