And it all begins (9/13/13)

In my life this week…
Most of our extra-curricular activities started back this week.  Awana. Swim Team. Ballet. Children’s Choir at church.  It makes life busy but we don’t mind.   We’re still working out when violin for Wyatt will start back.
 
                                    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA swim team
 
In our homeschool this week…
We are getting into a routine that works for us.  It’s taken us awhile but that’s okay.  I’ve mentioned before how much of a blessing our co-op is to me and the kids.  This year the classes they are taking are wonderful.  They are both being challenged and enjoying their classes so much.  They are excited about the things they are studying which makes my job so much easier!
 
On Thursday, we met up with some friends and toured the local museum in our little town.  We had been before but what a treat to brush up on our local history.
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
We discovered Kids’ Zone http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/index.asp   this week while Leah was learning about bar and line graphs.  While I did have her draw her own graph, this is a cool site where you can input information and then have it build the graph for you.  It also has other math related activities.   For us, it was a great way to help her visualize exactly how a bar or line graph really works.
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Besides getting back to the extra-curricular activities mentioned above, we also had the chance to see my mom this week.  She was on her way to the beach with a friend so they came through on Saturday and had lunch with us.
 
OUR favorite thing this week was…
We have a sweet lady in our church that is very kind to our family.  She came over on Friday night with all the fixings for homemade banana splits.  After sub sandwiches for dinner and a wonderful ice cream treat, we played a few rounds of Guesstures and a few quick hands of 21 (the card game), which is a great way to keep your mental math skills sharp.  We laughed and laughed. 
 
wyatt banana split
 
 
What’s working/not working for us…
We had a small victory this week in getting up and getting going a little earlier.  Next week, we may revert back to struggling but this week, it worked!
 
Things I’m working on…
I’m trying (really hard) to get back to couponing.  When I made the effort in years past to coupon, I wasn’t one of those get $150 worth of groceries for $30 but I did okay.  I am making the effort and hoping to really save money.  It is time consuming but it is worth it when I know I’ve really saved on something! 
 
I’m reading …
Lit!: A Christian Guide to Reading Books by Tony Reinke.   This was required reading for Wyatt over the summer for his English I class at our co-op.  He really enjoyed it and since he knows I love to read, he suggested that I read it too. 
 
I’m cooking…
Nothing fancy and no new recipes this week.
 
I’m grateful for…
I am becoming more and more aware of how many people really struggle in their marriages so this week I am specifically grateful for my husband and our marriage.
 
I’m continuing to pray for…
Family members dealing with health issues and a dear friend who is dealing with cancer.
 
A photo, video, link, and a quote to share…
This is our turtle.  We caught him standing up!  Well, not really standing…more like leaning. I think he’s trying to escape.
crush
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and Homeschool Review
 
HSMJ link up
 
Joy to You!
signature
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

