W is for …………..

Wedding

(love and marriage)

wedding

 Yep!  This is us.  18 years ago on Monday of this week (the 19th)

Ours was a beautiful wedding.  I had six bridesmaids; all dear and precious friends (that includes my sister).  They wore champagne colored silk dresses.  The flowers were lilies (my favorite) and other smaller flowers that reminded me of lilies.  The guys wore black;  they were all very handsome.  After 18 years, I still remember thinking that the day was just perfect.  It was all I dreamed and more.

We’ve been through so much.  It’s true what the Bible says in Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, we have experienced times of laughter and times of weeping.  There have been times to mourn and times to dance, times for birth and times for death, times to speak and times to be silent. There, of course, are more “times” listed in Ecclesiastes but these were the ones that immediately came to mind as I think back over the past 18 years.

I love my man!  He is the kindest person I know.  He is genuine and honest.  He values people and makes the effort to show them that he cares.  He makes sure, every day,  that I know that he thinks I’m beautiful — even though I often don’t feel that way.  He is funny and smart and very talented.  He is a wonderful father.  He is a man who seeks the Lord in all things and for me, that’s very important.

This year I have reflected A LOT on marriage because we know so many that are struggling in their relationships with the their spouse.  These are couples that we love and value — ones we consider close friends — that have daily struggles.  Some of the struggles our friends are dealing with have led to depression, withdrawal from others.  Some of those struggles are leading to separation and divorce.  I am grieved to my very core over all of them.   Not one, in my opinion, is worse than the other.  Not one of those struggles is beyond the grace of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

No marriage is without struggles.  We have had ours.  By the grace of God, I’ve never considered wanting out of our marriage.  Recently we have spent some time discussing the struggles that our friends are dealing with as related to our own marriage.  Questioning if we deal with some of the same issues and asking ourselves how to safeguard our union from those things.  We discovered that there are some that we have dealt with or are dealing with.  We have prayed for our friends. We have prayed for our own marriage.  God has been very good to us.  He has showered grace and mercy upon our marriage.  He has blessed us beyond what I could have ever asked or imagined.  I feel very blessed!

I am not an expert on marriage.  I’ve read some very good books on the subject and I have several blogs that I follow that are always full of encouragement, pointing their readers to keep the Lord the center of their lives, their marriage.  My prayer is that I would always be the wife that Kevin needs me to be…that God has called me to be. That is my prayer for my friends and family too.

Thanks for joining me on my journey as I “Blog through the Alphabet” with Marcy over at Ben and Me.  See you next week!

Joy to You!

signature

 
 

 

One thought on “W is for …………..

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

