School is back in!!

In my life this week…
I’ve been working on stuff.  My list consisted of all the necessary items for our co-op “sign in/welcome” table,  a menu for the Annual Ladies’ Christmas Dinner at church, and lesson plans for the class I am teaching at co-op.  
 
Our church is hosting a youth conference this weekend so Wyatt and my hubby have been involved in that.  That leaves Leah and I to watch all the American Girl movies we want;  “Samantha” is my favorite!!  We had popcorn and chocolate chips for dinner on Friday night. 
 
 popcorn
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Does that make me mom of the year or what?  {smile}  
 
In our homeschool this week…
We’re back to school and yet “summer” still lingers.  We’re easing in and I’ve decided I like it.  This is our 3rd year homeschooling.  The first 2 years I was VERY rigid about starting on the day that I set to start.  This year, I am not being slack, I’ve just realized that it’s okay to ease in.  And it feels really good.  Part of our reason for easing in is that our co-op has not started yet.  That’s next week and then we’re full speed ahead.
 
Wyatt has been finishing up his English summer reading and honors credit projects.  He takes this class, using IEW’s Window’s to the World through our co-op.  This summer he has read A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court by Mark Twain – and written a paper about telling why it is considered a classic, The Screwtape Letters by  C.S. Lewis – and drawn a movie poster for it, and Lit! A Christian Guide to Reading Books by Tony Reinke – and completed a study guide.  He has also annotated  Twain and Lewis’ books. 
 
The co-op we belong to had a gathering Thursday night so that we could meet new families that have joined and reconnect with families that we’ve not seen over the summer.  It was really fun and has me ready to get back in the swing of things.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
Easing in has been a wonderful thing for me this year.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
A long conversation with a dear friend.  AND playing Phase 10 with the kids at lunch three days this week.
 
phase 10 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
Wyatt – the youth conference
Leah – seeing her friends at the co-op gathering
 
What’s working/not working for us…
This week, not being on a rigid schedule. 
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
I’ve decided that I need to REALLY get serious about couponing.  What are your favorite websites for couponing tips?
 
Things I’m working on…
Stuff for co-op.  Trying to mark off a least one more project from my summer “to do” list and well, it just didn’t happen.
 
I’m reading …
God’s Word.   And Leah and I are reading Anne of Green Gables together.  
 
I’m cooking…
Parmesan Chicken Bake with Sautéed Orzo and Green Beans.  Lots of eggs.  A cake.  And some cookies.
 
I’m grateful for…
Friends, both near and far and the ability to keep in touch.
 
I’m praying for…
Friends and family dealing with difficult circumstances.
 
A photo, video, link, and a quote to share…
“Because when you are imagining, you might as well imagine something worthwhile.”  ― from Anne of Green Gables
Below is a drawing that Leah for the book.  I think she did a pretty good job.
 
anne of green gables
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and Homeschool Review. 
 HSMJ link up
 
 
Joy to You!
signature
4 thoughts on “School is back in!!

    1. Thanks for stopping by Lula. You are so right about the great quotes. It was hard to choose but that one has replayed in my head ever since we read it so I thought it the best to use. Likely that I will post more from the book as we read through it. Blessings to you!

      Like

  1. American Girl Movie night’s with my daughter are the best! This is our 3rd year homeschooling too…I am constantly working on co op stuff too…becoming less rigid too! Bless your new school year!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

