Under Construction…A Monday Meditation!

under construction

Ever feel this way?

Like you’re under construction?

Before I became a stay at home mom who home schools, I spent time around construction.  That’s because I am an interior designer by education and trade.  Before you decide that that’s really cool and want to know what color to paint your walls and where to put that very special antique piece that your great-Aunt Mary gave you, let me clarify a bit.  My father was a sub-contractor.  He worked for approximately 80 home builders completing the mirrors, bath accessories, shower doors, storm windows and storm doors in new or renovated homes.  He built this business from the ground up.  And he was successful.  He had a reputation in town of being one of the best.  The Lord was good to him, and my mom, in the many years that they owned and operated this business.

Because they ran the business for many years, I had a first hand — front and center — view of the way it worked.  Two things I decided early on.  1) I did not want the business if ever they decided to retire.  2) Housewives are picky so if I wanted to be an interior designer, commercial design it would be.  And so, I really shouldn’t call myself an interior designer — I was more of space planner.

But back to the designer in me.  Because of this, I like to look at furniture, artwork, accessories, paint colors, rugs, etc., etc.  I have dreams of painting projects, etc. in our home but then reality sets in and I realize that life being lived take precedent over a fresh coat of paint.

Recently, I’ve thought a lot about how the Lord has me under construction.  Some would call it sanctification or refining.  You would think I would be there by now but I am not.  Praise the Lord that He extends grace upon grace and continues to make me into the woman He created me to be.

The Bible confirms that we are His workmanship:

For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.  (Ephesians 2:10) 

We’re told from the very beginning of Scripture that He formed us:

then the LORD God formed the man of dust from the ground and breathed into his nostrils the breath of life, and the man became a living creature.   (Genesis 2:7)

Psalms reminds us of this twice in 139:

For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  (vs. 13)

Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them (vs. 16) 

We’re told that His refining will make us like silver and we will call on Him and He will acknowledge us:

And I will put this third into the fire, and refine them as one refines silver, and test them as gold is tested. They will call upon my name, and I will answer them. I will say, ‘They are my people’; and they will say, ‘The LORD is my God.'”  (Zechariah 13:9)

Our prayer should be one of sanctification from the Lord.  It is my prayer for myself and for my family:

Now may the God of peace himself sanctify you completely, and may your whole spirit and soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ. (1 Thessalonians 5:23)

I know that it may not be easy but I am thankful for my Savior who sees fit to refine me.

Joy to You!

signature

PS:  The designer in me is ready for a little change here on in my little corner of the blogging world so don’t be surprised if things are a bit different when you visit sometime soon.

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

