U is for ………

Unglued!

Do you ever feel that way?

Like you are about to explode?

 Or maybe you “stuff” your emotions so much that at some point you do explode.

This book by Lysa TerKeurst can help.

unglued

Let me clarify though that I do not see it as one of those “self-help” books.  I see it as a wealth of wisdom and knowledge that the Lord has given to Lysa to be used to point women to Him.  It’s a tool!    

I began reading the book not because I thought of myself as someone who comes “unglued” but because I just enjoy her writing.  I really like Lysa TerKeurst’s radio program and blog.  She is the co-founder of Proverbs 31 Ministries. She is a gifted speaker and writer.  

The cover of the book caught my eye.  I decided after reading the back cover that, yes, I could probably use a little instruction in handling my emotions.  How often do I wish I could stick my head in a box or a bag to contain my emotions?  What I found out is that I REALLY needed to read the book.  I am one who doesn’t always make the best decisions, especially in the “midst of raw emotions”.  It has taken me months to read the book because, well……I like to hi-light, underline, and write down the things that stand out to me.  You know those things that I think will help me to better handle my emotions.  And will certainly help me to live more like Jesus calls me to live.

Here are a few of my favorite quotes or passages from Unglued:

  • I know what it’s like to praise God one minute and in the next minute yell and scream at my child — and then feel both the burden of my destructive behavior and the shame of my powerlessness to stop it.  (boy, can I relate to this one)
  • There is a beautiful reality called imperfect progress…..they are slow steps of progress wrapped in grace… (hmmm,  I might could make this kind of progress and I, Robin, can certainly use all the grace I can get!)
  • We won’t bend from the weight of our past, but we will bow to the One who holds out hope for a better future.  It’s a truth-filled future in which God reveals how emotions can work for us instead of against us.
  • I can’t control the things that happen to me each day, but I can control how I think about them. (and how I react!)
  • I have to believe that I can face things that are out of my control without losing control of my temper and emotions.  This is a matter if trust ~ trust in the Lord that He us working out something good even from things that seem no good.
  • We can’t always fix our circumstances, but we can fix our minds on God!
  • We need to bring  our labels, raw emotions, and unglued reactions under the healing authority of Jesus.
  • Forgiveness is mandatory; reconciliation is optional. (this one is sometimes hard to swallow)
  • Feelings are indicators, not dictators! (this is one of my favorite statements she makes)

There are many, many more things that I have underlined, hi-lighted, circled……..you get the idea.  I just can’t share them all.

I have been praying for almost a year about whether or not the Lord would have me to lead a ladies Bible study class at church on Wednesday nights when other classes are offered.  I wasn’t sure until I began to read this book.  Now I am sure that this is a book that needs to be shared with others.  I have the privilege of doing just that.  Beginning September 8th, I will be leading a group of ladies through this book.  I am so excited.

This is not a solicited review of the book.  It’s simply the most logical thing for me to share as I “Blog through the Alphabet” with my sweet friend Marcy over at Ben and Me & others who are joining her.   If you could use a little, or a lot, of encouragement in the area of emotions I highly recommend reading Unglued.

Thanks for joining me again on my Alphabet journey.

Joy to You!

signature

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

