Just An Ordinary Day

Earlier this week I attended the funeral of a dear and sweet man in our church.  He was only 76. That’s just not very old on my book.  He was healthy — no one expected his death.

Last Friday he got up and went about his day.  His normal, ordinary day.  His wife, daughter, co-workers (yes,  at 76, he still worked), and friends say that he had a typical, ordinary day — filled with all his normal activities.

His son-in-law gave a beautiful eulogy.  He shared memories that are more precious now than they were Friday morning.  He talked of decisions this man made during his lifetime.   He spent time on the most important ones…you know career, marrige, etc.

Then he told of a day in the early 1970’s when this man, on another ordinary day, made a decision that changed his life forever.  He decided his eternity when, on that day, he accepted Christ to be his Savior.   As a result yesterday’s funeral was a celebration.   A home going.

We all have ordinary days.  Some are filled with happiness.  Some are filled with sorrows.  We never know what our day holds.  But the Lord knows.   Psalm 139:16  says,

Your eyes saw my unformed substance; in your book were written, every one of them, the days that were formed for me, when as yet there was none of them.

As dismal as this topic can be, the thought of how I live my life before others….before my kids, has been on my mind since leaving the funeral.   Just because my days are ordinary, my life and the way I live it, doesn’t have to be.  I am “fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139:14).  I am his “workmanship” (Ephesians 2:10).  Because I belong to His, there is nothing ordinary about me or my days.

My prayer is that I do always live my life as Christ intends.  Sure I will have days that seem ordinary but the reality is there is nothing ordinary about living my life for Jesus.

Joy to You!

signature

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

