Less of Me

Mon_meditations_revdSometimes things are just hard.  It may be a conversation.  It may be a relationship.  It may parenting…. a job….an illness…or loneliness (in the midst many)…..or financial struggles.  The list could go on and on and on.

They come and go, the hard times.   Sometimes I take them in stride holding my chin up and pressing forward.  Or at least that is what I do in public.  In private, I cry.  Sometimes it’s all I can do to muster the courage to be in public.   Sometimes I see hard times as a stepping stone that I KNOW the Lord will use to take me to a different, better (in His plan) place.  Sometimes I look at the difficulty and can not figure out how I will make it through.

When my husband was in Seminary, I had the joy and the privilege of being involved in the Seminary Wives Institute (SWI).  There I could take classes taught by Seminary professors and/or their wives.  I learned so much.  Not just about being the wife of someone in ministry but about being who God wants me to be.  I’ll admit that I don’t always call on that knowledge.  I sometimes like to wallow in self-pity which, I know, is sad.  But I believe in being truthful so I have to tell it like it is.

One of the books that I read while attending SWI classes was Lose the Halo, Keep the Wings by Virginia Wilson.  It’s directed to minister’s wives but there are truths in this book that are vital for any wife.  I was having a particularly difficult day and was led to this book.  I began to thumb through the book and read over the things I had highlighted or underlined.  There are many nuggets of wisdom on being a wife and a mother, on being a wife in ministry.  But one thing seemed to jump off the page.  Mrs. Wilson said,

…our Lord does not prepare us for the easiest life, but the best.

She goes on to write, “Jesus will fill you with what you need to be a (minister’s) wife…..When you are filled with less of yourself and more of Jesus, His glory will shine forth from you.”

That was it.  In the midst of the hard thing, I needed less of me and more of Jesus.  I needed to remember that this, whatever “this” is, is His best for me.  He formed me for “this”.

As I write this post, I realize that I get so caught up in the busyness of life that I am getting less of Jesus.  Where do I go from here?  I think prayer is a good place to start.  

Heavenly Father,
I ask You to show me how to seek You in every minute of every hour of every day.  
Lord, I want more of You so that I can clearly see that the hard things are Your best for me, for my family.  
Give me the desire to be less.  
Give me the desire to show You more in all I say and do.
In Jesus Name,
Amen

I don’t know where you are right now — what hard things the Lord is allowing you to go through, but I do know that it’s His best for you.  I pray that you will see more of Him and that His glory will shine through you.

Joy to You!

signature

2 thoughts on “Less of Me

  1. Thanks for sharing your real moments of struggle. Lately I’ve been trying to fill my need for fulfillment with more activities when it should be more Jesus. This post was a good snap back to what’s important.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

