Why Hope?

Mon_meditations_revd

Sometimes I post verses to Facebook and Twitter that catch my attention during me daily Bible reading.  A few weeks ago, I posted 1 Peter 3:15. It says:
But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect,
 
Someone replied to my post with the question, “why hope?”  She went on to say that even living a committed Christian life leads to disappointment.  This has weighed heavy on my heart ever since that day.  I understand the response.  People let us down.  Circumstances don’t always go our way.  Sometimes it seems that there are struggles at every turn.  The list that leads to a feeling of hopelessness can be quite long. 
 
There’s another verse.  It’s probably my favorite in the entire Bible.  It is Romans 15:13 and it says: 

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Shortly before we moved to SC from KY, I met a lady that became a spiritual mentor to me.  I was drawn to her because of her love for scripture.  I began spending time with her and she showed me this verse.  I was at a point where I’ll admit that I felt hopeless in our circumstances at that time.  Life was not always easy while my hubby was in Seminary.  I wanted to be a full time mom but instead I was working full time.  I wanted to homeschool my kids, but they were in public school.  I was not content where the Lord had us.  My friend showed my this verse.  She began to teach me to find joy and peace trusting the Lord.  She suggested that I pray Romans 15:13 for myself.  I did and the Lord would gently say “trust me”.  It was hard.  And it was a long road.  But I began to feel hope; I began to realize the true source of hope.  
 
You see, I had put my hope in so many other things.  In other people.  But it’s not found in our family, our friends, our co-workers.  Hope is not found in our jobs, our material possessions, our position at work or in any volunteer work we do.  
 
Our hope is in Christ.  We are to trust Him despite the junk that satan throws at us and despite the actions of others. 
 
So, why hope?  Because Christ loves us and gave His life for us. Because He wants us to overflow with peace and joy.  Because He wants us to trust in Him.
 
My prayer is that you find hope in the midst of whatever you are going through.
 
Joy (and hope) to you!
 
signature
 
 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

