M is for……….

Mon_meditations_revd

Meditation

Back in September of 2012, I began writing what I call “Monday Morning Meditations”.  Because I don’t always have a chance to post first thing on Monday mornings, I changed the name along the way to “Monday Meditations”.  This is a place that I share what the the Lord is teaching me in hopes that it will speak to someone else.  While I am “Blogging through the Alphabet”, I thought it a great time to re-visit the meaning of meditation and share it with you.

According to Webster’s 1828 dictionary, Meditation means:

 Close or continued thought; the turning or revolving of a subject in the mind; serious contemplation.

Don’t you just love that, “the turning or revolving of a subject in the mind.”  Wow!!  Reminds me of Philippians 4:8 where we are told to “think on these things”.

What do you meditate on?  For me, it’s the things that fill my time.  It’s my to-do list.  Or what I am currently reading, since I really don’t watch TV very often.  I mostly read Christian fiction so I like to tell myself that it’s nothing that could take my mind to places that it shouldn’t go, but in reality, I get caught up in the story line and find myself staying up late to find out what happens next.  When I’m not reading, I think about the plot and the story line.  I meditate on the book.  

As I think about meditation, I realize that (for me) it’s okay to read fiction but I need to spend more time in God’s word.  I need to meditate on what He has to say to me through His word.  One of my favorite verses — one that helps keep me in check — is Psalm 19:14.  It says:

Let the words of my mouth and the meditations of my heart be acceptable in thy sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

I plan on being more intentional about the things I fill my mind with.  I plan on meditating on His Word and on Him more.  Won’t you join me?

See what others are blogging through the alphabet about over at Ben and Me.

Joy to You!

signature

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

