School, A Convention, Good Friends, & more….

In my life this week…
Or I should say two weeks.  On Monday the 13th, we bid Nana good-bye from her weekend visit and hit the books.  We had a lot to accomplish in a few days and did pretty good staying on track.
 
On Thursday the 16th, we headed to Nashville, TN for the Teach Them Diligently convention.  There we met up with three families from KY that are dear and precious friends.  The convention was awesome, as expected.  The fellowship – well, there really aren’t words to describe the encouragement I get from my sweet friends.  I did write about it here in my “Blogging through the Alphabet” post this week.   I also got to meet, and wish I had gotten a photo with, Kelli from Adventurez in Child’Rearing.  We have a mutal friend and have “talked” to each other on social media for a while now.  It was cool to meet her in person.
 
friends
 
 
Two of my favorite sessions were given by Heidi St. John (The Busy Mom) and Rachael Carman (His Sunflower).  And I got to have my photo taken with them.  These sessions were on keeping romance in your marriage and having a H.E.A.R.T for your kids.  Really good stuff!!
 
rachelc_heidi
 
And I would be amiss if I did not share some photos of the beautiful flowers and fountains at the Opryland Hotel.  This is just a sampling but ones I thought were especially pretty.
 
flowers_fountains
 
Back at home this week, we were geared up to get back to swimming but the pump on the pool was broken so swim team practice was cancelled until Thursday.  That also meant that we could not go swim in the mornings.  Leah pointed out that she felt extra tired because she had not been exercising.  As for Wyatt, he would not have gone swimming with us because he caught some kind of stomach virus and was pretty much down for the count for 3 days.  Thankfully, he’s feeling better now.
 
Friday night we met up with my mom and my sister and her family to have dinner to celebrate May and June birthdays.  Here’s a picture of me with my mom and my sister.  I love them dearly and am so blessed to call them family.
 
me_mom_yac
 
In our homeschool this week…
The end is in sight!  And we couldn’t be more ready for a break.  Of course, we will do a little math and a lot of reading over the summer.  Despite Wyatt feeling so bad, he worked hard on finishing up a few projects.  For that I am very proud of him.  Our co-op had its end of the year celebration where all the students and families were recognized for completing this school year.
 
We have a few more things to finish up and our summer break will officially start.  The goal is for that to happen in the next week. 
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
Go to a homeschool convention.  I recommend Teach Them Diligently.  Of course, that’s the only kind I’ve ever been to but I love that they focus on discipling our children.  When we teach our kids to focus on and love the Lord, the academics will follow suit.
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Nashville, TN – for the convention.
Columbia, SC – for family birthday dinner
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Finding out that I won a giveaway from Rachael Carman. I won this by posting a photo of Rachael and me from the convention on Facebook and Twitter.  My prize:  a copy of her book How to Have a H.E.A.R.T For Your Kids, a bag of M&M’s, and a sunflower necklace.  I am so excited!!!
 
My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
Seeing their KY friends at the convention.
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
What do I need to do to direct my kids more to the Lord?
 
Things I’m working on…
End of the year paperwork for our homeschool association.
 
I’m cooking…
Not much this week.  We had several things going on in the evenings this week so I just didn’t cook.
 
I’m grateful for…
Relationships that are not affected by time and distance.
 
I’m praying for…
Friends dealing with difficult issues.
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
“If you don’t break out in worship while studying math and science then you aren’t doing it right.” – Israel Wayne
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and Homeschool Review. 
 
Joy to You!
signature

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

