Our new normal

In my life the past 2 weeks…
Our new normal is taking some getting used to.  Or maybe I’m just old and set in my ways!   
With the kids now on the Swim Team, our days are different in many, many ways.  I truly feel like a taxi cab – but only back and forth to the pool.  Right now, until the kids are more acclimated to being on the team, we are getting up every morning and swimming and then 3 days a week, we’re back at the pool in the afternoons for Swim Team practice.  What I am learning is that swimming makes one hungry. I am now cooking breakfast – or more like brunch  when we get home in the mornings, then we are eating a late lunch before afternoon practice, and then dinner is after practice, which is a little later than I prefer but I’m adjusting.  I love that the kids are enjoying being on the team and that they are excited about exercising.  Here’s a photo of the kids working on their breast stroke.
 
swimming
 
We also had Leah’s first ballet recital;  a production of Cinderella.  It was really good.  Seeing her up on stage dancing was a proud moment for this mama.  And my mom came to visit for the recital and to be with us for Mother’s Day. 
 
cinderella
 
 
 In our homeschool this week…
Our co-op, except for Wyatt’s Science class, is done for the year.  They have a field trip coming up this week and one more test to complete the text.  Being done with co-op lightens our load just a bit for the rest of the year.  The kids are not complaining about that.   Our load being a little bit lighter allowed us to get ahead a little bit on other subjects and/or concentrate on finishing up with other things.  
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Swim,  Ballet Recital rehearsal and the recital, soccer.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Finding out that I won this book on my friend Marcy’s blog Ben and Me.  (The link is to Marcy’s review of the book back in March.)  Yay me!  Can’t wait to read it.
 
lead
                                                    
 My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
Nana coming to visit
 
What’s working/not working for us…
Our new schedule is working surprisingly well.  The kids really want to do well with swimming so they are excited to get up early for extra practice. 
 
Things I’m working on…
I cleaned A LOT!  The oven, the refrigerator, the toaster oven, the microwave,  etc.  
 
I’m cooking…
Breakfast almost every day.  Oh, and I made homemade Banana Pineapple Italian Ice.
 
I’m grateful for…
My mom.  She’s the best. (Wish the photo wasn’t blurry!)
 
me and mom
 
I’m praying for…
Friends and family going through difficult times.  Thankful the Lord hears us when we cry out to Him.
 
A photo to share…
This is Crush.  He’s our turtle.  While Wyatt was cleaning his tank, he put Crush in this container — we’ve done this many times.  This week, Crush decided he would try to climb out.  
 
crush
 
 
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and Homeschool Review. 
 
Joy to You!
robin2

2 thoughts on “Our new normal

  1. oh my goodness — those pics of Leah dancing. So sweet. And look at her hands! I wish I could see her dance live 😦

    Ben’s begging to swim on the swim team this summer. I just don’t know if I can handle the schedule.

    Love y’all and can’t wait to see you! Just 4 more days !!!!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

