We had a great week! (4/26/13)

In my life this week…
It’s amazing how adding something to our schedule can change the dynamics of our life – for the good.  I mentioned last week that the kids are joining the local swim team.  Tuesday was the first practice and it went okay.  Keep in mind that neither one of my kids are very good swimmers.  In our little town, being a good swimmer is not a requirement to start the team, especially in the short “summer” season from April to July.  The kids really want to succeed and do well so we have not only added swim team practice to our schedule but going to the pool every morning to practice on their own.  Leah does need a little extra help so she will be having a few private lessons over the next few weeks. 
 
In our homeschool this week…
This is where the dynamics really changed this week.  Since Tuesday, both kids have been motivated to get up and go swim in the mornings and then come home and get their school work done.  They have worked very hard to complete their assignments and have had much better attitudes about school.   Maybe we should have started swimming a long time ago {smile}.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
If you have the chance to just sit and talk to other homeschooling mamas, take it.  Our co-op had our annual “Mother’s Night Out Curriculum Review Night”  this week where we each bring in curriculum that we love.  We gather around a table, talk about the curriculum,  ask and answer questions, and share tid-bits of information about websites, educational games, etc.  I walked away feeling refreshed!
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
The pool.  The pool.  The pool.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
At Leah’s soccer game on Saturday, when the coach (a.k.a. my hubby), had finished giving out stars and doing a quick chat with the girls on the team, one of the players raised her hand and said, “Can I say a prayer of thanks to the Lord for a great game and this beautiful day?”  Of course, he said yes.  It was one of the most beautiful prayers I have ever heard.  Such a sweet moment.
 
My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
The got to ride in a limo.  A friend of theirs was surprised on Wednesday by her parents when she was picked up from her dad’s office by a limo to go to church.  We happened to be in the right place at the right time and my kids got to ride too.  It was just a drive around town but they loved it!!
 
What’s working/not working for us…
Being busier worked for us this week.  I know that that may not always be the case.  I know that we will get tired and have days that we don’t want to go anywhere, but for this week, it worked.
 
 Questions/thoughts I have…
When do you switch from a spelling only curriculum to vocabulary?  Leah is asking to do vocabulary next year instead of only spelling.  I’d love input from others.
 
Things I’m (STILL) working on…
 Catching up on school paperwork and organizing around the house. AND I finished separating day lilies,  planting a few perennials,  and even trimmed a few bushes.
 
I’m cooking…
I made two recipes from Pinterest this week.  Lemon Crockpot Chicken and Crispy Smashed Potatoes.  Both were really good.  Definitely keepers for my recipe box.
 
I’m grateful for…
Friends.  I have so many that help me in so many ways.
 
I’m praying for…
A family in our town that lost 4 children in a house fire this week.
 
I rewarded my kids this week by…
Taking them out to lunch after swim practice on Wednesday.
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
“Quit studying the problems and start studying the promises” ~ Ruth Bell Graham
  
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up this week with Hammock Tracks’ Homeschool Review
 
Joy to You!
signature
2 thoughts on “We had a great week! (4/26/13)

  1. OK…I can’t tell if my first comment worked. I’m having a hard time with commenting through WordPress for some reason. Anyway…How awesome about swimming! They’ve found a great determination in it, huh? So wonderful for them! Spelling? My oldest son stopped in 4th grade when he tested 9th grade in Spelling Power. My daughter will continue on with spelling next year in 6th grade. It’s a huge struggle for her. Not much help, am I? LOL I would suggest that once they are comfortable spelling multi-syllable words then move on!

    Like

    1. Jessy,
      Thanks for stopping by and for the comments on Spelling. She is a really good speller. I guess I should find an assessment to see where she is and then go from there. I go always do a vocab curriculum and have her also spell the words for me? Thanks again.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

