Everything is a blur!

In my life this week…
The weeks are flying by and it seems there is so much to get done.  And, I just can’t seem to get to it.  I made a short list of only 7 things to accomplish this week.  I completed 2 of those and am about half way done with 3 more.  Oh well!  There’s something to be said for progress, right?  {smile}
 
Leah played her first Upward Soccer game last Saturday.  Neither of my kids are really into sports but for 8 weeks in the Spring, Leah loves to play soccer.    
 
1st game photos
 
Even though they are not really into sports, they both have piqued an interest in swimming.  We have a swim team here in our little town through the YMCA so this week, I signed them both up for the swim team.  They start practice next week.  April – July is what they call their “summer session” and is a great time to try out the team.  Many of their friends from our co-op are on the team so they will enjoy seeing friends at practice also.  While they swim, I plan on finding a treadmill or a recumbent bike to ride.
 
In our homeschool this week…
Our week didn’t start out so great.  Seems we just couldn’t get in our normal groove of school work.  I honestly don’t know what it was.  By Wednesday, we all wanted a day off but I felt it best to just keep going.  Afterall, summer is just a few weeks away.  And on Friday, we had visitors.  One of the families in our co-op asked if their two girls could stay with us for the day while the mom was out of town and their dad worked.  One of their girls is 3 so that added a challenge to homeschooling that I have never experienced.  The other is 1st grade and a sweet friend of Leah’s so it was nice to have her here for the day.  The kids all did great getting their work done and enjoyed playing together too.
 
The biggest event of the week was heading over to the SC Governor’s School for Science and Math, which is located in our little town, and watching the students there build what they hope will be the World’s Largest Ice Cream Sundae.  Once it was all built, they measured, notarized and documented the information which will be submitted to the Guinness Book of World Records for certification.  Then they handed out spoons.  Total length — 815 feet 2 inches.  Here are a few photos of the event: 
 ice cream
 
I also have to brag on my kids.  A few weeks back I mentioned that we are required by the homeschool association that we are under to participate in standardized testing.  The kids were not sure about taking the test and not sure how they did.  Well, we got the results this week and they both did really well.  I am so proud of them.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
When you’re close to the end, press on!!
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Just the normal routine plus a few extra Children’s Chorale practices for Leah.  She has a performance this weekend.  Oh, and the kids hung out with friends one afternoon while I went to the dentist.  They had fun….I did not!!
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Spending some time outside working in the flower beds.  I planted a few things and discovered that my lilies that I transplanted from KY have multiplied so I can separate them and have beautiful lilies all the way across the front of the house.
 
My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
Not seeing the giant ice cream sundae but getting to help eat it!!
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
Thinking about next year.  Co-op registration for the fall is in two weeks so I need to have a plan.
 
Things I’m working on…
Still working on getting caught up on school stuff
 
I’m cooking…
I made breakfast Friday morning for our friends that spent the day with us. 
 
I’m grateful for…
My husband.  His love for me and the kids.  His love for the Lord.
 
I’m praying for…
Dear friends who are hurting deeply.
 

A photo, video, link, or quote to share…

My son shared this on Facebook this week.  It’s just too good not to share here.
christian
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and Homeschool Review
 
Joy to You!
signature
6 thoughts on “Everything is a blur!

    • The sundae was pretty amazing. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that much ice cream at one time!! 🙂 I am proud of my kids but give glory to the Lord for equipping them. I certainly couldn’t teach them without His help. Thanks for visiting my blog.

      Like

  1. So neat that your kiddos got to be part of the ice-cream project! Keep us posted on the status 🙂 My kids love to look through those Guinness books and see all the crazy records.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

