Spring Break is definitely OVER!

In my life this week…
ballet
What  I thought was going to be a week that we eased back into our routine turned into the exact opposite of that. I keep a calendar on the refrigerator that helps us keep track of our activities.  Since we left for the beach on March 31st, I had not yet changed it to April.  Because of this I have to admit that I forgot about a few things that we had to do this week.  Ballet pictures was one of the things I forgot.  Add a leak in the water line to our refrigerator and catching up on vacation laundry to the mix and the week was just crazy.
 
I will say that even though I forgot about ballet photos and had to go on quite a search for the right color tights and shoes they turned out great.   This one was taken at a local park after the “official” photos at the dance studio.
 
In our homeschool this week…
We are winding down on a few subjects and have what seems like miles to go with others.  I suppose the nice part about finishing a few things early will be that we can then spend extra time on the stuff that needs extra attention.
 
Leah gave her presentation of Greenville County in her SC History Class.  Below is her presentation board and the model she built of the Liberty Bridge in downtown Greenville.
 
presentation
  
bridge
 
Wyatt is working hard on finishing strong in his Science and Economics classes at co-op.  Both kids have a good bit of work to do in the next few weeks before our co-op is done for the year.
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Seems we were all over town this week running from place to place.  We did have a surprise visit from an old friend which was a treat.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Sunshine, blue skies and warm weather
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
Does everyone do every school subject every day?  I know it’s late in the year and that may be a weird question but since we are finishing some things early, I wonder if I should spread things out a little.
 
Things I’m working on…
I made great headway this week on getting caught up on school stuff.  I hope to tackle the kids closets tomorrow and pull out all the clothes that they have grown out of.
 
I’m reading …
I finished reading Mine Is the Night.  It was wonderful.  I am going to now work hard to finish reading Unglued and 100 Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart. Both of these have taken me longer than expected because I am underlining and taking notes of things that stand out or that I want to remember.  I want to have both of these done in the next 3 weeks.
 
I’m cooking…
Because we missed having them on Easter morning, I made Resurrection Rolls for breakfast one day this week.  Other than that, we had normal stuff.  Next week, I’ll get back to trying one new recipe a week.
 
I’m grateful for…
The ability to pray for others knowing that God hears me and values my prayers.
 
I’m praying for…
My kids.  I mean I do that anyway but for the month of April I am specifically praying for their Head, Shoulders, Knees, and Toes.  This may seem odd but it’s a challenge given by Marcy over at Ben and Me.  The challenge is based on the book Lead Your Family Like Jesus by Ken Blanchard,  Phil Hodges, and Tricia Goyer.  It has made me think about my kids differently — in a good way!
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
My husband took this photo while we were at the beach.  I just love palmetto trees.
 palmetto tree
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and Homeschool Review
 
Joy to You!
signature
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 thoughts on “Spring Break is definitely OVER!

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

