D is for ………..

bloggingalphabetnew

DILIGENT

It’s my word for the year.  You can see my post about it here.  The definition for diligent is:

Steady in application to business; constant in effort or exertion to accomplish what is undertaken; assiduous; attentive; industrious; not idle or negligent

Here are a few verses that give us an idea what the Bible says about being diligent:

So take diligent heed to yourselves to love the LORD your God. (Joshua 23:11 NAS)

Be diligent to present yourself approved to God as a workman who does not need to be ashamed, accurately handling the word of truth. (2 Timothy 2:15 NAS)

Therefore, brethren, be all the more diligent to make certain about His calling and choosing you; for as long as you practice these things, you will never stumble (2 Peter 1:10 NAS)

Since April is upon us and the year is quickly going by this seems a perfect opportunity to do a pulse check on how I’m doing.  My progress is mixed.  In some of the areas I listed in my January post, I have been successful and in others, well……..I am successfully failing.

Here are the areas that I targeted in January:

  • My time with the Lord ~ I’m doing pretty good with this one, but I will admit that I miss on ocassion.
  • Scripture Memory ~ I continue to attempt to memorize 100 verses in 2013.  These verses come from the book  100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart by Robert J. Morgan.  Since I am confessing, I’ll go ahead and admit that I am a little behind with my memorizing.
  • Our homeschooling ~ Being organized was the big challenge for this one.  I‘ve pretty much failed up to this point but I have a renewed sense of determination and am working hard on getting caught up.
  • Patience ~ I think that maybe I’m doing okay with this one but I’m not 100% sure.
  • Keeping my home ~ Some weeks I succeed.  Some weeks I successfully fail!!!
  • Health and healthy eating ~ This is a toss up.  I am exercising some, drinking more water than in the past, and paying attention to what I cook for my family but I know I could do better.
  • Relationships ~ I am sure I could be doing better on letting my family and friends know that I love and care about them.

As the year goes on, I will press forward with my effort to be diligent in all things.

Click HERE to see what others are “Blogging through the Alphabet” about for the letter D over at Ben and Me.

Joy to You!

signature

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

