Spring Break!!! (4/5/13)

In my life this week…
I read, relaxed, enjoyed time with family, enjoyed time with the Lord.
 
We were at the beach for Spring Break with my husband’s family.  The weather has been less than ideal for the beach but that’s okay.  As long as I am curled up with a book, I am happy!
 holden beach collage
 A Few Shots From Our Week
1. The tide rolling in
2. Leah snuggled in the hammock with her cousin
3. Treasures my sister-in-law has a knack for finding
4. Wyatt playing in the waves
5. Leah and her cousin buried in the sand
 
In our homeschool this week…
The kids had a break.  I, on the other hand, worked hard a little bit every day on getting caught up on paperwork and organizing.  I didn’t completely finish but made great progress.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
Don’t procrastinate on projects for our co-op classes.  Instead of packing and preparing for our trip, we spent much of last Saturday working on Leah’s SC History project because; well………I didn’t encourage her to be more diligent in getting it done over several weeks. 
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Places — The beach!  All those beach shops!  Hard Rock Café for lunch one day! 
People — My husband’s family – 14 in all. 
 
hard rock
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Reading to my heart’s content.
 
My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
Being with their cousins at the beach!
 
Things I’m working on…
As mentioned above, catching up on school stuff.  
 
I’m reading …
Here Burns My Candle and Mine Is the Night by Liz Curtis Higgs.  If you’ve never read her books, I highly recommend them.  Scottish historical fiction aligned with biblical history.  These two run parallel with the story of Ruth and Naomi.  Simply beautiful!
 
I’m cooking…
I made cookies to take to the beach.  They were gone within 24 hours of our arrival.  Other than that, I’ve cooked nothing since arriving at the beach.  My brother-in-law does much of the cooking when we are at the beach.  I’m willing but he enjoys it so I just help clean up.
 
I’m grateful for…
Family that can live together for a week and really, truly enjoy it!! 
 
I’m praying for…
My sweet friend who lost her mom this week.  My own mom who ended up back in the hospital this week while I was at the beach.
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
Our choir sang this song on Easter morning.  I had just had to share.
 
  
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and  Homeschool Review
  
Joy to You!
 signature
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 thoughts on “Spring Break!!! (4/5/13)

    • Spring Break was much needed! And the beach, though cold, was wonderful. Thanks for stopping by. I just visited your post from this week and love your idea to have a few days here and there off to enjoy the spring weather. Hope you’ll visit me again!

      Like

  1. Look at them all snuggled up in the hammock! We do that hear sometimes. It’s just fun to bungle up in blankets together and read a book or two while swaying. Especially in the fall with leaves falling.

    I need to catch up on paperwork next week on our last schedule week off for the year (before summer vacation). I’ve got a pile of papers for portfolios to go through!

    Your vacation sounds perfect! 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

