Not Our Normal Week!! (3/23/13)

In my life this week…
As noted above, it hasn’t been our normal week.  It started out normal, on Sunday, but quickly became NOT so normal.  We did not have co-op on Monday but did have all of our other extra curricula activities.  Tuesday – Thursday, we participated in Stanford Testing.  This is required by our homeschool accountability group in SC.  For my kids, it was a great opportunity to see their co-op friends more than in a “normal” week.  {smile}  Anyway, we were rolling along with our testing and other activities when I received a call that my sweet mom had been admitted to the hospital.  I began packing and getting things in order so that I could go and be with her, not being sure how long I would be gone.  We finished up testing and made the 3 hour drive on Thursday.  I am writing this from her hospital room.  Oh, and Leah started Upward Soccer this week.  My hubby and Wyatt are her coaches. 
First soccer practice

First soccer practice

 
In our homeschool this week…
Testing plus a little math and grammar on the side.  That’s all.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
Schedule changes, whatever the reason, are often a breath of fresh air.
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Our co-op friends more than normal.  No one can say that we are socially deprived homeschoolers!  Family on our unexpected trip to Greenville.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Watching a movie with my mom. I spent the night with her at the hospital and we were both wide awake so I pulled up Netflix on my laptop and we watched “October Baby”.  I think it’s my new favorite movie.
 
My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
Seeing their co-op friends almost every day.
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
Thinking about a foreign language for Wyatt since he will be in high school next year.  I’d love to hear what others are doing – both the chosen language and the curriculum you use.
 
Things I’m working on…
Syllabi for the two classes I am teaching in our co-op next year.  I am very excited about them.  I will be doing a semester of Geography & Missions and a semester of what we are calling Arithmetic Arena, which is a cute name (that my friend came up with), for math concepts in literature.  We will be looking at the basic concepts for K5 – 1st grade through reading.  There will be hands on activities too. We’ll be registering for our fall co-op classes soon so the syllabus has to get done.
 
I’m cooking…
Sour cream and bacon crockpot chicken (Pinterest), Twice-baked mashed potato casserole (family favorite from Southern Living) and Broccoli salad

Sour cream and bacon crockpot chicken (from Pinterest), Twice-baked mashed potato casserole (family favorite from Southern Living) and Broccoli salad

 
I’m grateful for…
Praying friends.  As soon as I knew my mom was sick, I sent emails and texts and had a whole group of sweet friends lifting mom up to our Heavenly Father.
 
I’m praying for…
My mom.  And many other things that are heavy on my heart.
 
A few things — a photo and a cartoon — to share to share (silly, serious or both!)…
 

This was in the sky on my drive to Greenville to be with my mom.

This was in the sky on my drive to Greenville to be with my mom.

This is from www.joyfultoons.com.  I thought it worth sharing.

This is from http://www.joyfultoons.com. I thought it worth sharing.

  
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal and Homeschool Review 
 
Joy to You!
signature
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

