Sticks and Stones (Monday Meditations)

Mon_meditations_revd

Do you remember that old nursery rhyme about sticks and stones?

It goes like this:

Sticks and stones will break my bones,  
But words will never harm me.
 

It has been my experience, even as an adult, that words do hurt.  Even when they are said in jest.

I am sure that those comments should just be overlooked.  The person on the receiving end should consider the person that made the comment and know that they were only kidding but there’s this thing called self-esteem and as humans, sometimes, our self-esteem is a little lacking.    Sometimes words said at the wrong time can be painful.  Sometimes words said at the wrong time can make a person wonder if they are liked, even loved.

This happened to me recently and, to be 100% honest,  my feelings were hurt.  I then begin to think about the words I say.  Sometimes I say things to my husband, my kids, my friends that I really, truly mean as a joke.  I would never intentionally hurt their feelings.  As I contemplated what was said to me and if this person has ill feelings towards me, I was reminded that sometimes I am guilty of the same.

Then the Lord tugged on my heart and reminded me of His word.

 “Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul
and health to the body.”
~Proverbs 16:24~
 
 “Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths,
but only what is helpful for building others up
according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.”
~Ephesians 4:29~
 

I want to be more intentional with my words.  I want what comes out of my mouth to be kind.  I want to be the one building others up and not tearing anyone down.  I want the words of my mouth to be pleasing to the Lord — see Psalm 19:14.

This is my prayer!  For me!  For you!

Joy to you!

signature

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

