A Look at Our Week Ending 3/1/13

In my life this week…
I had a Pampered Chef Catalog show.  I am so excited.  I’ve had catalog shows before but never one like this.  I had tons of orders which resulted in lots of free stuff.  It was fun to shop, get stuff, and not spend any money.  And I LOVE Pampered Chef stuff so I am doubly excited.
 
The kids and I were still in the Upstate on Saturday visiting with my husband’s side of the family.  Wyatt spent the afternoon hanging out and listening to his uncle and a friend play guitar.  Now he wants to learn to play the guitar!  Leah spent the afternoon playing with her cousin.  They talked and laughed and giggled and then giggled some more.  They also spent some time make spin art which was really cool.  Below are a few of their creations.
 
spin art collage2
 
The rest of the week we had our normal activities plus we got to spend the afternoon on Thursday with friends which was a nice treat.
 
In our homeschool this week…
Leah and I are reading about Jamestown which is leading to great discussions about things we learned when we visited there in November last year.  We’re moving right along in Math, having finally made progress with multiplication tables.
 
Wyatt was feeling just terrible on Wednesday so he slept a lot but, to his credit, he also got some school work done.  He also had his first meeting with his Math tutor.  Can you tell that Math is not our best subject? {smile}  Anyway, our little town is home to the SC Governor’s School for Science and Math and the students are available to tutor.  A member of our church teaches there and he helped set up the tutor for us.  I have high hopes that this will be of great benefit to Wyatt.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
It’s okay to have a sick day!  Sometimes it’s okay just to have a day off!
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
All the normal places this week.  Seeing family and friends.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Hearing from KY friends that they are looking to come visit us in June.  We’re looking forward to their visit.
 
My kiddos favorite thing this week was…
Seeing family on Friday and Saturday last week!
 
What’s working/not working for us…
We’re doing much better getting up and getting going.  For me, that’s huge!
 
Things I’m working on…
I am the BoxTop Coordinator for our co-op and March 1st is the deadline for Spring submissions so this week, I’ve been counting and sorting BoxTops.
 
I’m grateful for…
Health.  There is a nasty virus going around and I am just thankful that we are all well.  Thankful that Wyatt did not have the virus on Wednesday when he was feeling bad.
 
I’m praying for…
A friend from college that is dealing with some tough medical stuff.
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share (silly, serious or both!)…
I found this on Teach Them Diligently’s Facebook page.  I thought it was worth sharing.
 
 gods voice
 
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal over at iHomeschool Network.    I am also, for the time, linked to It’s a Wrap over at Hammock Tracks.  Thanks to Savannah for the invite to link up.
                                        HMJ square   https://i0.wp.com/hammocktracks.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/savannahbutton2.png
 
 Joy to You!
robin1
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 thoughts on “A Look at Our Week Ending 3/1/13

  1. Congrats on having such a good Pampered Chef show! I just love their “stuff!” 🙂

    The spin art photos made me smile. I remember that well from my childhood!

    How wonderful that you were able to spend some time with family and friends. That’s the best.

    I just LOVE that “photo” you shared! I am going to have to copy that down and put it somewhere where I can see it and often.

    Thanks for visiting my blog and for your kind comments. I hope you have a great weekend. Many blessings, Lisa

    Like

  2. Looking back at some of your posts. Wish you lived closer b/c I love Pampered Chef, too. Best measuring spoons EVER. The end. (And I really, really love that photo you found about God’s voice and Satan’s voice. May keep it for some opportunistic teaching around here when things get crazy.)

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

