Celebrations and such!! (HMJ – 2/15/13)

HSMJ-wideIHN
 In my life this week…
 This week turned into an unexpected week of celebrations and a bunch of normal stuff.  We  celebrated the life of a Christ follower at a sweet service honoring her life, mourning her death last Saturday.  Then on Sunday I attended a wedding shower, a baby shower, and the kids and I joined friends to celebrate Chinese New Year at a program put on by the local college in our town.  Our co-op celebrated Grandparents Day on Monday so my mom came to visit for a few days and joined the kids in a few of their classes.  We also had two family game nights (one with my mom – one just the 4 of us),  had to go shopping for dress clothes for Wyatt – more on that next week, did the normal activities of our week and celebrated Valentine’s day. 
 
The big news is that my kids decided that they want to do their own laundry.  We assigned a day for each of them, assigned a day for me to take care of mine and my hubby’s, and assigned a day for towels and sheets.  We’ll see how it works. 
 
In our homeschool this week…
It’s been a weird week.  I REALLY TRY to not schedule things in the mornings so that we can focus on school.  I REALLY TRY to get up and get going by 9 – 9:30 at the latest.  This week we had a few unavoidable things that kept even my best efforts from being a success.  I have to chalk it up to being the way it goes and hope for a better week next week.
 
Remember the decomposing bananas and the bacteria in the refrigerator and on the counter top?  This week, Wyatt’s science has a chicken bone soaking in vinegar in a jar in the kitchen.  It is REALLY gross!  (Remember, science is not my calling).  Anyway, the purpose of the experiment is to decrease the flexibility of a fresh chicken thigh bone.  So every day this week, he has put on his gloves and goggles and tested the bone. 
 
Leah’s projects from last week were successful.  Here are a few shots of each.
 
science
1. – 2. Determining the Volume of a Solid     3. Testing Charles’ Gas Law  
 4. Evaluating the Freezing Point of NaCl in Water
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
This week I’m in need of the tips and advice so I have none to share.
 
I am inspired by…
Friends that have overcome adversity and clearly give testimony to the Lord for it.
 
Places we’ve been…
Other than the above mentioned events and our normal activities, we also made a trip to the DMV, Wal-Mart, had to get my allergy shot and we went to Zaxby’s as a family for lunch on Valentine’s Day.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
My Valentine roses!
 
roses
                                                                                                        
 
What’s working/not working for us…
It’s been such a crazy week that I honestly am not sure what is working and not working.  Isn’t that horrible?
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
I’m beginning to think about next year.  Do we stick with the same curriculum or venture into something different?
 
Things I’m working on…
Last week, I had hoped to finish up Leah’s room.  It hasn’t happened;  maybe this coming week.  I’m still memorizing.
 
I’m STILL reading …
Unglued by Lysa TerKeurst and 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart by Robert J. Morgan.  Getting close to the end of one and more than halfway through the other.  I am a slow reader!!
 
I’m cooking…
Pepperoni Bread (pictured), BBQ sandwiches, Grilled Pork Chops, and Chicken and Dumplings.
 pepperoni bread
 
 
I’m grateful for…
Those moments orchestrated by God to sit and really get to know someone better.
 
I’m praying for…
Friends and family dealing with sickness and struggling with some tough issues.
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
A sweet friend in our co-op made this headband holder for Leah.  
 
hairbow holder
 
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal over at iHomeschool Network.
 
Joy to You!
robin2
One thought on “Celebrations and such!! (HMJ – 2/15/13)

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

