Benefits of The Word (100 Verses in 2013 ~ Week 6)

 
Mon_meditations_revd 
I know it’s not Monday anymore but I still wanted to write my “meditations” post AND I just love the photo of the cross.  It reminds me that meditating on God’s Word will cause me to look to the Lord.
 
It’s hard to believe that we are already in week 6 of memorizing 100 verses in 2013.  Last week was very busy so I must admit that I have not mastered the 2 verses that I was working on.  No worries though, I will just keep at it and add this week’s to them.
 
I mentioned in previous posts that I am reading the book 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know by Heart as I take this challenge to memorize the verses listed in the book.  You all will likely get tired of hearing me say that the book is well worth reading, but I can’t help it,  I just think it bears repeating.  Anyway, in my reading this week Robert Morgan is giving tips on how to memorize and how to relate the verses to each other.  He also mentions benefits of knowing God’s Word.  One thing that he said that has really stuck with me is,
Bible verses represent the most healing, clarifying, bolstering, uplifting data we can insert into our brains.
 

Then, last week, while our internet was down and I couldn’t access my daily reading plan through YouVersion, I read Psalm 119.  As I was reading, I noticed that it lists many benefits of the Word of God.  Here are just a few of those benefits?

  • My footsteps are established (133)
  • That I may live (116)
  • Gives light………understanding to the simple (130)
  • Is my delight ….. my Counselor (24 & 92)
  • My strength (28)
  • Keeps my way pure (9)
  • Produces a reverence for God (38)
  • Comfort in affliction (50)
  • Revives me (multiple verses)
  • Deliverance (170)
  • Good discernment and knowledge (66)
There are more but the one I like the most, which happens to be one of the verses I am to memorize this week :
  • Psalm 119:11 — I have hidden your word in my heart that I might not sin against you.
Isn’t it cool that God spells it out for us? He lets us know that if we meditate and memorize His Word we will benefit in many ways.

The other verse for this week is:

  • Joshua 1:8 ~ Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.
 
There’s another benefit.  Prosperity and success.  This is not material prosperity or worldly success but rather these things as God measures them.  That is my prayer.  For myself.  For my family.  For my friends.
 
Thanks for joining me in my journey to memorize scripture.  I hope that you will hide a few, or 100, scriptures in your heart.
 
I am linked up with my friend Marcy over at Ben and Me.  Won’t you join us?  Click over to Marcy’s site to read how others are also taking this challenge.  Or click on the button below to visit Learning At His Feet, the site where the challenge started.
 
100 verses
 
Joy to You!
robin2
3 thoughts on “Benefits of The Word (100 Verses in 2013 ~ Week 6)

  1. Pingback: Words I Live By. « True and faithful servant

  2. Sounds like you have a very well spoken young man. What an amazing life experience that will be! We also just got Quirkle for Christmas. It’s our new fav. family game : )

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

