Forsaken!

Cross
 
We are entering Week 5 of the challenge to memorize 100 Verses in 2013.  I am diligently (that’s my “word” for the year) working on learning the scriptures that are outlined.  I am still reading the book 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart  that this challenge is based on.  It’s so good; I could — and may one day soon — write a post just about the book.  But right now, I’d like to talk about last week’s verses.  Both verses came from Romans.  They were:
  • Romans 5:8 — But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
  • Romans 10:9 — That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.
I’ve heard these for years but never really learned them.  Never committed them to memory word for word.  NEVER really knew where to find them in the Bible.Anyway, in my quiet time one morning this past week, as I was reading in Ezra 9 and the word FORSAKEN jumped off the page.  I immediately thought of the two verses in Romans that I was working on memorizing.  Ezra 9 talks of God not forsaking the children of Israel in their time of slavery.  It tells that He extended His steadfast love….gave His protection to the people.  And Romans tells us that He loves us, that He saves us.

I began to think of how I so often forsake the Lord with my actions and attitudes. And yet, He has not forsaken me.  I am not one to get into controversial issues, but I believe that it often seems that our nation, even the world as a whole, has forsaken the Lord.  And yet, He has not forsaken us.  The two verses in Romans reaffirm/confirm this.  He provided a way out of our sin.  He loves us.

I feel like I am rambling on and on…….I apologize but I just can’t get into words what I am thinking or how I feel but I do know that God loves us.  He will never leave us or FORSAKE us.

Thanks for letting me share.   The verses for Week 5 are:

Romans 10: 10 ~ For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified,
and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.
2 Timothy 3:16 ~ All Scripture is God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking,
correcting and training in righteousness . . .
 
 This post is linked with my friend Marcy at Ben and Me as I journal about my goal to memorize 100 verses this year.  Please join us in memorizing or just for encouragement in God’s word.     You can also join in the challenge by clicking the button below to visit Learning At His Feet.
 
100 verses
 
Joy to You!
robin2
2 thoughts on “Forsaken!

  1. Oh … you are so lucky – you own the book. I so wish I had a copy of it. I put it on my wish list so we’ll see what happens this year. I feel that I would learn so much from reading it. It would also help me dive into the verse explanations further with my daughter. I would love to read your post about the book, so if you decide to write one up stop by and let me know so I can check it out. Are you memorizing the verses with children? If so, how old are they?

    Like

    1. Hi Tracey,
      Thanks for stopping by. I am going to continue commenting on the book as I work on the challenge to memorize the verses so please check back sometime. My kids are 9 and 14 and they are not memorizing with me at this point. My daughter is in AWANA so she is already memorizing many scriptures for that. I do want them to memorize some of them at least so I am praying about when and how to do that….,maybe I’ll give them a summer challenge! Not sure. Blessings! Robin

      Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

