Homeschool Mother’s Journal ~ January 24, 2013

HSMJ-wideIHN

In my life this week…
It’s been another week of normal stuff sprinkled with joy in this journey called life. 
 
In our homeschool this week…
This week has been somewhat of a blur.  No real reason for that, it just seems to have gone by quickly.  Both kids needed to concentrate on Math a little more this week so as a result, other subjects aren’t getting quite as much attention.  
 
Wyatt just completed reading The Hobbit for literature.  He loved it and wants to read Lord of the Rings next.  We don’t own the books so we will have to find them at the library or borrow or buy them.     History for Leah this year is The Mighty Works of God: Self Government.  This week we are learning the history of the Bible and how John Wycliffe and later the printing press helped in spreading the gospel.  I found a great little book, very reasonably priced, for the Kindle called How We Got The Bible.  We will be reading that next week as we continue in this study.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
It’s okay to focus on one subject more than another on occasion.
 
Places we’ve been…
On Saturday, we went to Longhorn Steakhouse.  We had been given a gift card for Christmas and decided to take the kids out for dinner.  I absolutely love their Strawberry Salad.  Other than that special treat, it was the normal stuff …………Violin, ballet, children’s chorale, Awana, Upward.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
redeeming love Breakfast with a friend on Saturday morning.  Since we are both busy with life, we make it a point to meet every 4-5 weeks to catch up.  This week we met at this great little place in town called the Midnight Rooster.  They have the best hot chocolate!    Another favorite was going outside on Wednesday to find a package containing my favorite fiction book.  My hot chocolate buddy had found it at a recent book sale at the library and since she knows it’s my favorite, and she knew I did not own it, she bought it for me.  What a treat for me to have my own copy!! 
 
 
 
 What’s working/not working for us…
Still struggling to get up and get going.  I am going to bed earlier so I hope that eventually it will affect my getting up!
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
I want to compile a summer reading list for the kids.  I have a few books in mind but would love suggestions.  Next year we will be entering 4th and 9th grade.
 
Things I’m working on…
Memorizing Scripture.  I am enjoying this so much.  Most Mondays I am going to be writing about it along with others who are taking the 100 Verses in 2013 challenge.  You can read this week’s post here.   I am also trying to catch  up on some cleaning that I’ve been slack in getting done — you know things like wiping down the baseboards,wiping out the refrigerator, etc. 
 
I’m STILL reading …
Unglued by Lysa TerKeurst and 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart by Robert J. Morgan.
 
I’m cooking…
I made Nine Can Soup and homemade pizza.  I forgot to take a picture of the soup but here is my pizza.
 
pizza
 
 
I’m grateful for…
Friends who listen.
 
I’m praying for…
A friend’s mom who is really sick.  A sweet friend who was recently diagnosed with cancer.  My husband because that’s the best way I can support him.
 
A photo, video, link, quote to share…
When we recall Scriptures, they become like sanitizers of the brain, washing our minds in a bath of praise. 
                                                                        ~ Robert J. Morgan (100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart)
 
 Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal over at iHomeschool Network.
 
Joy to You!
robin2
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

