Memorizing (and meditating) on Scripture

Cross
 
I mentioned in my post on Friday that I have taken the challenge to memorize 100 Verses in 2013.  The challenge is being hosted by Learning at His Feet where you can find out the verses for the week and get encouragement from who are also memorizing.  There is also a Facebook page for the challenge.  The challenge is based on the book 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart by Robert J. Morgan. 
 
I am also reading the book.  Even if you decide not to take the challenge to memorize the verses, I recommend reading the book.  It is thought provoking and encouraging.  It is a great reminder to the power and the importance of reading the Bible and of memorizing Scripture.  In chapter 1 Morgan says,
It (referring to the Bible) verbalizes His revealed intelligence about how we should think, feel, act, and speak.  Its theology is therapeutic, and its advice is sensible.   
 
A few pages later he says,
 
Scripture has power that is supernatural, soothing, convicting, transforming, life-changing, timely, timeless, and eternal.
 
Wow!
 
As I am reading, I am thinking to myself that I want this power more embedded in my life. And I want my children to have have this too.   I do my best to have a daily quiet time where I read God’s word but sometimes, I admit, I am simply reading.  I am not letting the words of God soak into my heart and mind.  This is why I took the challenge.  
 
As the weeks go by, there are 50 in the challenge, I plan on blogging about what the Lord is teaching me.  Sometimes, I may write about the week before and sometimes I may write about the upcoming verses for the week.  Either way, I hope that this journal that I share will give others encouragement and a reason to meditate on the Word of God!!
 
Weeks 1 – 3, the verses were ones that I had already memorized – except for one that I’m still struggling just a bit with but I will get it.  Now we are on Week 4.  The verses for this week are:
  • Romans 5:8 — But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
  • Romans 10:9 — That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.
I am joining with my friend Marcy over at Ben and Me in blogging about my journey to memorize these 100 verses this year.  Won’t you join us?  Click over to Marcy’s site to read how others are also taking this challenge.  Or click on the button below to visit Learning At His Feet.
 
100 verses
 
Joy to You!
robin2
2 thoughts on “Memorizing (and meditating) on Scripture

    • The book is packed with so many practical insights about God’s Word and memorizing Scripture. I will likely share a little of the book every time I journal about the challenge. Thanks for hosting the blog link-up!

      Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

