Homeschool Mother’s Journal (1/18/13)

HSMJ-wideIHN
 
In my life this week…
We’ve been busy with our normal routine.  I had a whole list of things that I wanted to get done and did cross a few off the list but I have to be honest and say that it just didn’t happen the way I planned. 
 
In our homeschool this week…

2013-01-18 13.43.56

 
Writing and Math have been especially difficult this week for both kids for some reason.  I guess it’s just the way it goes. Leah had to learn a poem so we made a puzzle out of the words to help her with memorizing it. They both had science experiments to do.  Leah was studying Salts.  She soaked an egg in vinegar for 24 hours and when we took it out the shell was gone.  She thought that was pretty cool.  Wyatt soaked a leaf in rubbing alcohol overnight, then took it out of the alcohol and covered it in Iodine.  After 3 hours, he washed off the Iodine and the leaf had gone from green to a shade of brown.  The point of the experiment was to detect the stored food in the leaf.
 
 
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
Using a timer to help us stay more focused was recommended last week so we tried it and it worked!  Yippee!!!!!!  We’re not totally there but things are much better so I highly recommend it.
 
I am inspired by…
Music.  This is not unusual but it had a tremendous effect on me last Sunday morning.  The Lord seemed to identify my emotions and explain His solution during our time of worship.  I wrote about it on Monday; you can read it here.
 
Places we’ve been…
Nowhere special this week and yet, in a small town, we almost always run into someone we know no matter where we go so it’s always a treat to be out and about.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
I have two favorites this week.  The first was last Friday night when I settled in on the sofa with Leah to watch Little Women while Wyatt and my hubby were at Upward Basketball.  The second — Thursday night I was home alone!!!  Is that horrible that it was a favorite thing this week?  Kevin was at Upward and the kids were Square Dancing with friends so I took advantage and enjoyed a quiet evening at home watching a movie – a “chick” flick that no one else in my house would really want to watch! I also worked on homemade Thank You notes and did a little organizing.  
 
What’s working/not working for us…
Getting up on time continues to be difficult for us.  I have such great plans to get up by 6:30, get ready and then have the kids up and settled into school by 8:30 but it’s just not happening.  Maybe someday we’ll get there.
 
Things I’m working on…
100 verses
Memorizing scripture.  I saw a challenge on Facebook with Learning at His Feet to use the book 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart and memorize the verses highlighted in the book.  I decided to accept the challenge. You can find out more about the challenge and join in by clicking on the box to the right.   
 
 I’m reading …
Still reading Unglued by Lysa TerKeurst.  It’s very good.  I am taking notes as I go so that slows me down
but there is so much really good stuff in there.  Also reading 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart to along with my Scripture memorizing challenge.
 
I’m cooking…
Or not really that much this week.  Circumstances have caused us to have something quick a few nights but that’s okay in my book as long as it’s not the norm.  
 
I’m grateful for…
The privilege to homeschool my kids. 
 
I’m praying for…
Guidance from the Lord concerning how/where He wants me to serve in our church.  I often take on a role because no one else is willing and then quickly find myself burnt out.  I know He has a place for me, I just have to find it.
 
A photos, video, link, to share…
ScriptureTyper.com is a tool I discovered to help me memorize the verses.
 
 Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey.  I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal over at iHomeschool Network.
 
Joy to You!

 robin2

One thought on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal (1/18/13)

  1. We struggle with the whole getting up on time too! But actually, I have decided to go with it. I enjoy my coffee and quiet time before the kids get up and their work still gets done. We joke that we handle the afternoon shift. 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

