And the word is……………

Last year I decided to select a word for the year.  My word for 2012 was CONFORM.  My goal was to conform more to the likeness of Christ.
 
Did I reach my goal?  Did I CONFORM more to the likeness of Christ?  I think in some ways I did.  And I know in some ways, I did not.
 
 I began thinking of IF I even wanted to select a word this year.  At first I thought it best not to.  After all, it’s really just one more thing to have in the back of my mind.  One more thing from the New Year that I can’t accomplish.  Then I was having a conversation with my son and he said that this year he knows that he needs to be more diligent in his schoolwork, practicing his violin, and several other things.  Later that night I was recounting the conversation and it hit me.  I also need to be DILIGENT.
 
The next morning I decided to do a little research.  What does DILIGENT really mean?  What does the Bible have to say about being DILIGENT?
 
The definition, according to Webster’s 1828 Dictionary is:
Steady in application to business; constant in effort or exertion to
accomplish what is undertaken; assiduous; attentive; industrious;
not idle or negligent
 
What does the Bible have to say about being DILIGENT?  There are several verses but the one that stood out the most to me is 2 Peter 3:14 (ESV).  It says:

 Therefore, beloved, since you are waiting for these, be diligent to                                      be found by him without spot or blemish, and at peace.

That was it!  I want to be found by Him “without spot or blemish, and at peace.”

So, this year I will strive to be

DILIGENT in:

  • My time with the Lord ~ it should be the first thing I do in the mornings and the last thing I do before I go to sleep
  • Scripture Memory ~ I’m reading 100 Bible Verses Everyone Should Know By Heart by Robert J. Morgan.  There’s a Facebook group that you can join to help in memorizing the 100 verses in a year recommended to me by my friend Marcy.  So I joined and am going to try
  • Our homeschooling ~ Organized is probably a better word but diligence will bring about organization for me
  • Patience ~ with myself and others.  Especially others and especially my sweet husband and my kids
  • Keeping my home ~ I firmly believe that being a wife and a mother is my calling from the Lord and so I need to fulfill my calling
  • Health and healthy eating ~ I need to exercise and my family needs to eat better.
  • Relationships ~ both near and far……….with family and friends.  It’s my responsibility to be sure that those I care about know that I care about them.

I am sure there are more things that I can and will, hopefully, be diligent about and I’ll write about it along the way.

I’d love to hear if you have a word for this year that you are concentrating on.  If you need some inspiration on choosing a word, my friend Marcy over at Ben and Me highlighted 50 friends and their word for the year.  Stop by her site and get inspired!

Joy to You!

robin2

 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

