The One Day I Dread The Most!!!

Today would be that day.

Thirteen years ago today, one of the most important men in my life went home to be with the Lord.  I lost my Daddy that day.  I’m still not over it.  I still grieve.  I wish, almost daily, that he could have known my kids.  I wish I had him to talk things over with.

I asked my husband last night if it will ever not hurt so much that Daddy is gone?

I’ve been a bit weepy all week.  Just knowing that today was coming.  Haven’t really talked about it with anyone because……..well, I think I’m afraid no one understands.  That I will seem silly.  After all, I am in my 40’s.  I should be able to handle this right?  I don’t know if I should be able to or not but what I do know if that today turned out to be not nearly as sad as I imagined.

I credit the Lord for this.  I had mentioned briefly to two friends at church last night that today was the day and that I am just sad.  Both emailed me today to say that they were, and would be, praying all day long for me.  To my surprise (this shows how little faith I sometimes have) I only had moments of sadness.  Only a few tears were shed.

That is the power of prayer!  That is my God taking care of every little detail of my life; even my sadness.  How awesome is that.

What a mighty God I serve!

Joy to You!

2 thoughts on “The One Day I Dread The Most!!!

  1. I love you, my dear friend. I’m so sorry for your loss. I know you miss him and I don’t think you’re “supposed” to get over that. Be thankful for the Godly man that your Daddy was and let his legacy continue to live through you as it is passed on to your sweet children. ((hugs))

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

