The Race Is On….. (HMJ 9/14/12)

  
 
In my life this week…
Or at least I have felt this week like I have been in a race.  All of our extra-curricular activities started back this week.  Monday is Co-op day.  After Co-op we have Ballet for Leah and Violin for Wyatt.  Children’s Choir on was supposed to start this week for Leah but has been postponed for a week.  Wednesday brings AWANA and Youth Group. Thursday and Friday do not have a regularly scheduled activity but there will be things that pop up here and there to do, see, or go to.  
 
 Leah and Friends Before Their First Ballet Lesson Begins 
 
In our homeschool this week…We are behind!  This is not by our choice but by circumstances beyond my control.  The circumstance is my Leah falling and hurting her wrist on Wednesday night during Awana.  The result, over half the day in Urgent Care and a diagnosis of a soft tissue contusion.  She’s in a sling for a week and has to keep it elevated and we have to ice it at least twice a day until the swelling goes down.    Oh, and it’s the hand she writes with so we will see how that goes.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
Don’t stress over little bumps in the road.  The Lord has ordered our days and this week, He allowed mine to not go as I planned but as He saw fit.
 
I am inspired by…
One of the mom’s in our co-op.  Why does she inspire me?  Because she simply has the sweet aroma of Christ about her – in her speech, in her actions, in her attitude.   What a blessing to know her. 
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Leah and her friends sitting at the kitchen table having a snack and chatting.  There was also quite a bit of giggling going on!
 
What’s working/not working for us…
Setting a timer for those subjects that we seem to lose focus on.  Math is the big one for my daughter.  If she gets a little discouraged with the problem she is working on, her mind wonders.  Setting a timer has kept her on task.
 
Things I’m working on…
Still organizing.  This week I worked on the bookshelf beside my desk and am almost done.  It feels so good to have a proper place for things!
 
I’m STILL reading …
But am almost finished with Shepherding A Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp.  I hope to be able to say I am on something new next week.
 
I’m grateful for…
Leah’s wrist not being broken.
 
I’m praying for…
Marriages and Families.  It seems to me that the devil is attacking them on every side.
 
Photos, video, link, to share…
We have precious friends who live in Illinois.  They have 3 sweet boys, the littlest we have not “officially” met yet as he was just born in August.  Anyway, I opened the mailbox one day this week and inside was an envelope with these two pieces of artwork so I just had to share.    
  
  
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey here and with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal over at iHomeschool Network.
 
Joy to You!
2 thoughts on “The Race Is On….. (HMJ 9/14/12)

  1. I have had the Tedd Tripp book on my “to read” list for a while.I keep meaning to pull it off my bookshelf. Has it been helpful to you in your parenting or how you discipline your children?

    Like

    1. The book was a help but I hadn’t really realized that until I re-read it this year. I had first read it when my son was a baby so that was 13 years ago. I pulled it back out earlier in the year because I remembered it being specific to the teen years and we were struggling big time adjusting to having a teenager. When I first starting re-reading it, I thought “wow, we don’t do this stuff” but as I read more I realized that yeah we do in some form or fashion. More than anything, it helped me to realize how significant issues of the heart are in our children.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

