Yay for Labor Day! (HMJ 9/7/12)

  In my life this week…
  The shout out for Labor Day is for a few reasons:     1 – Dad was home for the day, 2 – I got a nap in  the middle of the day, and 3 – it was just a nice   break.
 
We did go to the local auction house with our friend from church.  It was a fun and interesting experience.  The kids were a bit mesmerized by the auctioneer.  I’m not sure they have ever heard someone speak that fast —– at least not live and in person; maybe on TV.    This particular auction actually goes all day long starting at 10 AM and finishing up around 7 PM.  They sell different categories of items at different times.  There was a lot of REALLY cool stuff but nothing that we decided needed to take up permanent residence at our house.  It’s definitely something that we will want to do again. 
 
In our homeschool this week…
We’ve had focus issues.  Not the eyesight kind.  The kind where they are distracted by any and everything.  It’s been very frustrating for all 3 of us.  Today we got a little behind because of an unexpected errand that couldn’t wait until we were done with our school day.  We will have to catch up tomorrow.  Of course, Dad is usually home on Friday’s so that could also cause distractions.
 
On another note, Leah is doing The Mighty Works of God: Self Government for History this year and I really love it.   If you’ve never heard of it, you should check it out at The Pilgrim Institute.  Their description of it is “A Child’s History of the United States of America.  A Providential History series for the Home and School, that the boys and girls of the 21st Century might remember the mighty works of God in bringing forth this nation”.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
It’s okay to slow down, back up, whatever it takes to make sure that my kids are learning and retaining.  (**Disclaimer:  I learned this from many other moms in these first few weeks of school here on the Homeschool Mother’s Journal but it certainly bears repeating).
 
I am inspired by…
All the photos that all the other moms use in their Homeschool Mother’s Journal.  I am inspired to take more photos.
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing
Other than the auction on Labor Day, we stayed close to home this week.  Next week I will be very glad since extra-curricula activities start back next week.
 
My favorite things this week was…
Really last week but since I post this early on Friday’s it didn’t make it in last week.  Anyway, my favorite thing was lunch with my friend Caroline.  It was so nice to sit and chat.  To share from my heart with someone that the Lord has placed in my path to be such a good friend.   What a blessing!!
 
Our family LOVES board games.  We had a few nights this week that we played Rummikub.  Here’s a shot of my board and the game table.     
 
 
 I might add that I won this hand.  The next night my hubby beat us all twice!!
 
What’s working/not working for us…
Our chore chart!  We began this at the beginning of August with an allowance for each child being the reward.  They have tasks that they check off every day.  If they just don’t get something down, even after gentle reminders and requests by me, I deduct money from their set weekly amount.  So far, they’ve had no deductions.  The best part is that on occasion, I will do one of the tasks for them because they are doing such a great job. 
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
What are the programs or software that I could use to make great photo collages for my blog page?  I have used Paint.net some and Photobucket.com (today’s photos are using Photobucket)  but I’ve not mastered either of these yet.  I’d love suggestions.
 
Things I’m working on…
So last week I mentioned that I plan on cleaning out closets, drawers, and cabinets.  I am happy to report that I cleaned out and straighten my desk.  I thought that was a wonderful place to start.  I am also preparing items for the semi-annual Kids Consignment Sale that takes place in our little town in a few weeks.   This means washing, hanging, tagging…..it’s a chore but worth it if the items sell.
 
I’m (trying to finish) reading …
Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp.  This is the second time through the book and I’ve been very slow in getting through it.  I have so many other books that I want to read so I am determined to finish this one and move onto something else.  The big question is what to read next? That will be a tough decision!
 
I’m cooking…
Skinny Chicken, which contained roasted broccoli.  It was good.  I am so excited to have some new recipes to add to what I like to call our recipe rotation.   This recipe was from Pinterest, of course!!
 
Mini Apple Pies.  This was my second attempt at making them.  The first time they were pretty good.  The second time, I tweaked the recipe a bit and it was still successful.  My family has requested these as a breakfast item. 
 
 
 
  I’m grateful for…
Friends!  The Lord really has blessed me with so many good friends.  Some I’ve been friends with since elementary school and we still keep in touch.  Then there is my pen pal that I met in high school.  Yep, we still write and mail through snail mail but we also keep in touch over Facebook.  I have friends from college, friends we met in KY, friends from church and friends from past jobs.  I am especially grateful for the friendships that I am building in our, still sort of new, home town and church.
 
I’m praying for…
Peace from the Lord on an issue that I have no control over!
 
A photo, video, link, to share…
(This could really go under the “I’m inspired by….”)
 
Ann Voskamp.  Her website A Holy Experience brings me a point of worship almost every time I read it.  Yesterday’s post specifically spoke to my heart.  It reminded me that the thing I’m praying for is in His hands.  He knows His plan. 
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey here and with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal over at iHomeschool Network.
 
Joy to You!
3 thoughts on “Yay for Labor Day! (HMJ 9/7/12)

  1. I enjoy Ann Voskamp’s website as well. Those apple pie bites look yummy! We played games after dinner a couple of nights this week and it was so relaxing. The kids really loved it and we realized we should really take advantage of the fact that our children WANT to spend time with us. What a blessing! I hope you have a great weekend.

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by Jhona. I just visited your site too and love it. The apple pies were delicious. These were with crescent rolls even though the original recipe called for refrigerated pie crust. I’ve done both and both are really good.

      Like

  2. Just read this—Thank you for your “shout out” to me. I feel the same way. I am so thankful for our friendship and I enjoyed our lunch and conversation so much! It feels good to be able to go beneath the surface of things with a like-minded friend who loves the Lord. The only thing I regret about lunch—keeping your kids bored for so long. Next time they will have to bring books to read to keep themselves occupied! 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

