Homeschool Mother’s Journal – 8/31/12

 
 
 In my life this week…
We had game night last Friday night with our precious friends.    
We had a great time visiting with our friends and laughing….
really it was more like giggling….as we played “In A Pickle”. 
If you’ve never played it, I highly recommend it.  So much fun!!! 
The rest of the weekend and week was pretty normal week. 
I find that normal is actually really good!!!
 
In our homeschool this week…
Leah’s Science this year is Bright Ideas Press Christian Kids Explore Chemistry.  We’re just in the first few chapters learning the basics of chemistry; however, she was very excited to do the first experiment in the book.  The study was on compounds.  The task was filtration.   We mixed salt and fine sand, put them in a filter (that was placed in a funnel) and poured water over it.  Then we allowed the water to evaporate over a few days and we ended up with large pieces of salt.  Pretty cool!    I was all ready to document this with photos; however, my camera battery was very dead.  We may just have to do it again for fun and documentation purposes.
 
We also had great success in Math this week with both kids.  That’s a loud WooHoo in my house!!!
 
I am inspired by…
Many blog posts that I subscribe to.  I can’t read them all every week but how I enjoy getting a glimpse of the lives that others lead, seeing their struggles and joys, hearing how God is faithful to them in ordinary and extraordinary ways.
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing
We’re headed to a furniture auction this weekend.  It’s been years since I’ve attended an auction so I am really excited.  I don’t really plan on buying anything, we’re just going for the fun and experience of it but you never know, we may find a treasure!
 
My favorite thing this week was…
My 13 year old, taller than me, boy walking up behind me and giving me a hug and telling me that he is glad that I am his mom. 
 
What’s working/not working for us…
We’re still not getting up as early as I’d like.  I need motivation!!!
 
Things I’m working on…
Starting Sept 1st I plan on cleaning out closets, drawers, and cabinets.  I won’t get them all done in September but I have a plan and hope to purge a few things along the way.
 
I’m cooking…
From Pinterest!  Tonight we had Parmesan Chicken Bake.  It was delicious.  I find that Pinterest is such a great place to find new recipes…….and lots of other things too, of course!
 
I’m grateful for…
My family!  The Lord has blessed me beyond what I could have ever imagined with my husband and kids.  I love them and am so thankful that we are a family.
 
I’m praying for…
Many!!  
 
Thanks again for joining me on my homeschool journey here and with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.
 
Joy to You!
8 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal – 8/31/12

  1. It was a sad day when my 13-year-old was suddenly taller than me. ::sigh:: ::laugh:: He’s been growing like a weed and is now an inch taller than me.

    I have the Physics an Chemistry, but we haven’t used them. I was pondering them for after we finish Apologia Botany. Physics an Chem are areas we haven’t spent much time on. It’s good to see someone using and enjoying it!

    Pinterest IS great for recipes! I have lots and lots waiting on me! LOL This weekend I have plans to make a chocolate zucchini cake (to freeze for later), sweet zucchini relish, and a chocolate Oreo cookie cake (for our back-to-school celebration cake).

    Like

    • Jamie
      My youngest is 8-1/2 and she is also rapidly catching up to me. That will be a sad day for sure!!

      You should definately try In A Pickle, especially if you have kids and/or friends with great imaginations. It was so much fun. It would be a great addition to the family game shelf.

      Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

