Homeschool Mother’s Journal – August 17, 2012

In my life this week…
It was a crazy busy week but a very good week.  I had the opportunity to spend an evening with a great group of ladies from our church for a girl’s night out.  Wyatt and I went to the movies with a friend and her son.  My mom came to town and then my hubby and I left for a few days out of town to celebrate our 17th wedding anniversary. 
 
In our homeschool this week…
The kids worked hard and got all of their work done AND had a few last fun summer times with friends before they head back to school next week.  This was our 2nd full week and we are just loving our curriculum this year. 
 
 I am inspired by…
My husband!  As mentioned above this week we celebrate 17 years of marriage.  Our life together has not been ANYTHING like I thought it would be when he proposed, but that is okay by me.  I imagine that we would not be happy or content in our lives if we had followed our own dreams and ambitions.  God has led us, directed us, and kept us in His will.  Why does he inspire me?  Because he is the kindest person I know.  He is genuine with everyone.  He seeks to really know people and truly cares for them.  He is also the best husband a girl could ask for and he is a great dad!!!
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing
Savannah, GA with my honey.  His undergraduate degree is from Savannah College of Art and Design so it was kind of like going home for him.  It was fun to see the city and have him point out places he lived, places he hung out, and all sorts of neat facts about the city that he knew from living there for 4 years.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
A few days away with my hubby!!
 
What’s working/not working for us…
We have started a chore chart with a weekly allowance as the end result.  The kids have always been great about helping around the house but I wanted them to take on the responsibility of taking care of certain things without me having to ask, or tell, them to do these things every day.  So far so good.  I am very proud of them.
 
Things I’m working on…
Centerpieces for our homeschool co-op’s back to school banquet for parents.  If they turn out okay, I may post a photo next week.
 
I’m reading …
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall by Anne Bronte.  This is not normally something I would choose for myself but I was invited to read it with a group of mom’s in our co-op.   I can’t wait until co-op starts so we can discuss the book.
 
I’m grateful for…
My mom who came down to stay with the kids while Kevin and I took our trip.  I am also thankful for the friendships that I have formed since moving here in the past year.  I am truly blessed!!!
 
I’m praying for…
Many! 
 
A photo, video, link, to share…
Here are few of my favorite photos from our Savannah trip.
 
 
 I’m linked up with The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.
 
Joy to You!
 
 
One thought on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal – August 17, 2012

  1. I love being able to share in your life when you blog! I hated missing so much of my sweet friend’s joys, so it’s really nice to just read your thoughts and family events. Happy 17th Anniversary!! Love you guys!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

