O & P are for ……….

 
O is for …………..
 
Overwhelmed!!
 
While “ABC Blogging through the Alphabet” with Marcy over at Ben and Me, I try to be creative in selecting my topic for the letter of the week but this week I am behind and I just can’t think of anything creative. 
 
Every time I think of O, I think overwhelmed.
 
You see, I received news last Friday from my sweet sister that was a shock.  I was shaken!
 
Then the overwhelming sensation began as I hung up the phone and began to process.  When you realize that you or someone you love dearly is facing difficult days of medical visits, surgery, treatment, etc., it can be a lot to process. 
 
In our family, we believe in the power of prayer.  For people to pray they have to know that you need prayer…… so I spent a little time sending emails to friends asking for prayer, giving them specifics on the situation.
 
Then a very different overwhelming feeling came.  I received replies with precious and kind words, verses to meditate on, songs that encourage.  The Lord is so good!   
 
One verse that specifically stood out to me is found in Isaiah 43 and the English Standard Version even uses the word overwhelm!!
 
But now thus says the LORD, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel: “Fear not, for I have redeemed you; I have called you by name, you are mine. When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you; when you walk through fire you shall not be burned, and the flame shall not consume you. For I am the LORD your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. ~ Isaiah 43:1-3a
I am not surprised that the Lord provided overwhelming response to my request for prayer.  And that brings me to P.
 
P is for ………..Peace
 
What is Peace?
 
I love going back to the Webster’s 1828 Dictionary for definitions.  According to Webster, in 1828, Peace is defined:
In a general sense, a state of quiet or tranquillity; freedom from disturbance or agitation; applicable to society, to individuals, or to the temper of the mind.
I like that;  especially the part that says “a state of quiet or tranquility”.  That’s the kind of peace that the Lord gives! 
 
How do I know this? 
 
I’ve experienced it firsthand AND His word says so:
 
John 14:27 says:  Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.
 
1 Corinthians 14:33 says: For God is not a God of confusion but of peace…..
 
Philippians 4:6 reminds us not to be anxious for anything and is followed in verse 7 with this: And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
 
2 Thessalonians 3:16 is a wish for peace:  Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times in every way. The Lord be with you all.
 
Isaiah 26:3 reminds us that the Lord keeps those whose “mind is stayed on the Lord and trust in the Lord” in perfect peace
 
Peace is a fruit of the Spirit.  We find that in Galatians 5:22-23
 
And my favorite verse speaks of peace.  Romans 15:13 says: May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.
 
And so, in the midst of being overwhelmed by news that I wouldn’t have chosen, I trust the God of hope to hold on to my sister and her family and to give them peace that only He can give.  Selfishly, I pray for some of that peace for myself too!
 
Join me and others again next week as we “ABC Blog through the Alphabet”.
 
Blessings and Joy to You!

One thought on “O & P are for ……….

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

