Time Flies!!!!!!!! (HMJ 5/19/12)

 
In my life the past 2 weeks month…
I am living proof  that time does indeed fly!!!  It’s been a month since I last added to my “homeschool mother’s journal” and wow, I have I missed it.  I’ve missed writing AND reading what’s been going on with other homeschool families in their own journey. 
 
Not only is our school year rushing by but my son passed me in height in the past month!  Looking up (physically) to your 13-year-old is a different world.  Fortunately, I can also say that my son has many qualities that I also look up to him in that respect as well.
 
We had the unexpected pleasure and joy of taking a mini-vacation with precious and dear friends from IL.  They called and said they wanted to go to come for a visit and maybe go to the beach since we are so close to the coast.  10 days later, we were sitting on the SC coast taking in the beauty of the Lord’s creation.  I’d say that’s the joy of homeschooling….it’s portable so if you want to go away for a day or two, it’s totally possible.
 
In our homeschool past 2 weeks month…
We are in our LAST “official” week of our FIRST year of homeschooling.  Woo Hoo!!  We have had a very busy month since I last wrote.   Our co-op wrapped up classes for this year and registered for next year.  I am so excited about the classes that my kids have the opportunity to participate in next year but I’ll write more about those later.  We have one final event for co-op coming up this Monday night.  I’ll post more about that next week.
 
Last I wrote, Leah and two classmates were working on a mode
l of the Beaver’s house from The Lion, The  Witch, & The Wardrobe for their end of year literature project.  They did such a great job that I wanted to share the final project.   
 
 
Other than co-op finishing up, we are working hard to finish strong.  Wyatt is almost finished with My Brother Sam Is Dead.  Leah has read The Courage of Sarah Noble and wants to get one more book in before she’s officially done with literature this year so we are going to read The Cricket in Times Square. 
 
We ended the year landing on Math curriculum that we absolutely love.  As much as you can love Math anyway! {smile}  Wyatt is now working through pre-algebra from Chalkdust.  And Leah is using curriculum from Math Mammoth.  We will be continuing with Math through the summer.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
I mentioned last time I wrote that I had discovered www.edHelper.com but had not joined.  Well, I joined and I love it.  I have gotten the literature guides for the three books mentioned above from there.  I highly recommend it.
 
I am inspired by…
Blogs from other mom’s like me.  Really they’re not so much like me but I’d like to be more like many of you.  {smile}.  My latest blog inspiration is a new blog I literally stumbled upon.  It’s called Mothering from Scratch.  These ladies will bless you with what they have to share.  
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Myrtle Beach, SC ~ this was the coastal destination of our mini-vacation.  We had a wonderful time. This coming week, we get to see Nana along with my sister and her family AND friends from KY are going to be at the beach so we are celebrating our last day of school by joining them for a day in the sand.  I think I like living a little more than 1-1/2 from the coast.
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
Does anyone continue their homeschool efforts during the summer?  If so, what and how do you do it.  I know that we are working on Math through the summer but I’m not sure about other subjects.  I’d love to hear from more seasoned homeschool moms on this. 
 
Things I’m working on…
I’m making curtains for the kid’s rooms.  I am hoping to have them finished in the next week.
 
I’m reading …
Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers.  When I made a list for myself of books I’d like to read this year, I determined that it needed to be less fiction and more books that will help me as a wife, mother, homeschooler, child of God.  But this is my all-time favorite book and I’ve not read it in a long time so I decided to take a break between the others and read this story of redemption.  If you’ve never read it, I highly recommend it.  It parallels the book of Hosea in the Bible and will make you stop and think of your own relationship with our Lord and Savior.
 
I’m grateful for…
The year we have had.  Not only grateful, but also overjoyed and humbled.  I prayed for many years to be able to homeschool and when I realized last May that the Lord was opening that door, I suddenly became fearful that I just couldn’t do it.  There are a handful of ladies who have come beside me and walked this road with me.  Some intentionally; some, like many here at The Homeschool Mother’s Journal that have encouraged through their own experiences.  The Lord has abundantly blessed me with homeschool mentors that I am sure I will continue to call on for the remainder of our homeschool years.
 
I’m praying for…
Two families who are in the throes of dealing with cancer diagnosis.  I am honored to be able to go to the Throne of Grace on their behalf.
 
I also have a praise.  Back in March, I mentioned Baby Gabriel who was born at 26 weeks weighing only 2 pounds 9 ounces.  I am happy to say that he went home this week weighing 7 pounds.  This is an answer to many, many prayers.  of course, they still need them but what a testimony to the Lord in his little life. 
 
A photo, video, and a link, to share…
My kids at the beach
 
The Homeschool Mother’s Journal has a new address.  Please join me and others as we journal our journey at www.ihomeschoolnetwork.com
 
Thanks for joining me on my Homeschool Journey!
 
Joy and Blessings to You!!
 
One thought on “Time Flies!!!!!!!! (HMJ 5/19/12)

  1. Thank you again for the shoutout! 🙂 I (Melinda) have a number of friends who homeschool and know the commitment that it requires. I don’t blame you for being scared! Of course, as you are discovering, God will always equip us to do what He calls us to do. And He blesses when we step out in spite of our fear.

    I have to read Redeeming Love … I’ve heard so many people rave about it. Glad you were able to have a mini-vacation and that you came home refreshed. 🙂

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

