Homeschool Mother’s Journal – April 13, 2012

The Homeschool Mother's JournalIn my life this the past 2 weeks…
I’m catching up because the past 2 weeks have been jam-packed with activities and I didn’t get a chance to journal as I would have liked.  My Leah had the lead role in the Children’s Easter Musical (that was tonight) which meant lots of extra practices.  There were violin lessons, soccer practice — and the first game, a spur of the moment trip to the zoo in our state’s capital city with friends,  celebrating our Risen Savior, meeting up at the park for a day with friends, a visit from Nana, and seeing Tim Hawkins in concert.  There was also the normal, everyday, need to get done stuff like cooking, cleaning, laundry, homeschool (see below), the list could go on forever!  I guess you could say that my plate was full but I can also say that it overflowed with love, friendship, and laughter…compliments of Tim Hawkins. 
 
In our homeschool this the past 2 weeks…
Leah is working on a project for her literature class at our co-op.  She and her friends are making a model of the Beaver house in The Lion, The Witch and The Wardrobe.  This photo is of the girls working on the Paper Mache for the house itself.    Wyatt finished up reading The Hiding Place.   Next he’s reading My Brother Sam Is Dead.
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
I discovered www.edHelper.com .  I haven’t joined yet but it looks like a great resource and will likely join before the start of school next year. 
 
I am inspired by…
Two weeks ago, I mentioned that Wyatt had attended a seminar at the Teach Them Diligently Convention entitled “Making Brothers and Sisters Best Friends”, he also wrote an article about it for our co-op newsletter.  I also mentioned that he had plans for a picnic for he and Leah.  They had their picnic last week.  She was thrilled that Wyatt would take the time to do something special for just the two of them.  I am so proud of him!!!
 
 
Places we went and people we saw…
Riverbanks Zoo in Columbia, SC with friends from church on Good Friday.  Sesquicentennial State Park with friends from the Upstate of SC.
 
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
Anyone ever used Write with World writing curriculum?  It’s a product of World Magazine.  I saw it at the convention we attended and my son is interested in it but I wondered if it would give him what he needs writing wise for his 8th grade year.
 
Things I’m working on…
Curtains for the kids rooms.  The goal is to have them done by the end of April.
 
I’m cooking…
I made Resurrection Rolls Easter Sunday morning and I’ve made homemade pizza twice in the past couple of weeks.
 
I’m grateful for…
The grace and mercy of my Savior!!
 
I’m praying for…
Friends dealing with medical issues and upcoming surgeries and friends dealing with tough situations
 
A photo, video, link, to share…
Laughter really is a wonderful thing and since I laughed a lot at the Tim Hawkins concert, I thought I’d share a favorite from him……………
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=KGgRQpRq9no
 
Thanks for joining my   journey as I share a little bit of life through The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.  
 
Joy to you! 
 
 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

