F is for……Friends and Family!!

 
I’ve been waiting for this one.  Why?   Because I love my friends and I love my family.
  
What is a friend?            
 
For me it’s the one who knows my faults and likes loves me anyway.  It’s the person that I can laugh with, cry with, pray with, talk to or just be silent with.  Precious to me is that my family fits that description too. 
 
 I have blessed beyond my own comprehension with many friends along life’s path.  I especially like that I have friends of all ages.  I have a dear friend who I am actually the same age as her mother yet I look to her as a confidant, advisor, and sister in Christ.  I have another friend who is older than my mom.  She is a precious lady who is just plain special.  I have friends who have mentored me spiritually, as a mom, as a wife, in homeschooling, and even in fashion.  I have friends from college that I still talk to on a regular basis.  Friends in several states.   I have sweet friends recently left behind in KY when we moved to SC and I am getting to know and becoming good friends with sweet people here in our new hometown.  See what I mean?  I am blessed!
 
I’d be missing out if I didn’t also mention that my kids have some of the greatest friends ever.  I simply adore that they have others that they connect with and relate to.  They enjoy their time with them and miss them when their friends are not around.  Unfortunately they are also learning, younger than I would’ve really chosen, to say good-bye and cherish the friends that God places in our lives along the way.  Of course, we’re thankful for Skype so that they can see their friends a little more often!! {smile}
 
I looked up the definition of FRIEND in Noah Webster’s 1828 dictionary and although I 100% agree with the definition there, I like the way that C.S. Lewis and  a few others describe friendship.   Here are handful of quotes on friendship that really stuck out to me:
 
  • “While friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather is one of those things that give value to survival.”  ~ C.S. Lewis
  •  “The better part of one’s life consists of his friendships.”  ~ Abraham Lincoln
  •   Proverbs 17:17 says “A friend loves at all times.”   Proverbs 27:9 says “Oil and perfume make the heart glad, So a man’s counsel is sweet to his friend.”  That is the kind of friend I want to be.  One that loves at ALL times and one who receives the sweet counsel of a friend.   And then there is the scripture in James where is says “………..and he [Abraham] was called the FRIEND of God.”  (Ref is James 2:23) 
Wow!  I just can’t think of anything else to say on that one.
 
What about family?  I love mine.  Love my husband and kids.  Love my sister, my mom, still my Daddy’s little girl.  Love my nieces and nephews, in-laws, grandparents, aunts, uncles, cousins………..you get the picture.
 
Here are a few quotes about family that describe it better than I can:
  • “A family is a place where principles are hammered and honed on the anvil of everyday living.” ~ Charles R. Swindoll
  • “The family is the nucleus of civilization. God created the family to provide the maximum love and support and morality and example that one can imagine.”  ~ Jerry Falwell
  • “Families are the compass that guide us. They are the inspiration to reach great heights, and our comfort when we occasionally falter.”  ~ Brad Henry
I am blessed to have a family that I can count on.  Who makes up my family?  There’s the one I grew up in, the one I married into and now the one that consists of me, my hubby and our two awesome, wonderful kids.  What do they mean to me?  I can be myself with them.  I can lean on them.  I can laugh with them.  I can cry with them.  I can call when I am in need.  I can share triumps with them.  Sounds alot like friends to me!   
 
 I could go on and on.  Instead I will end this little meme with a photo of me and my sweet friend Marcy.  This blog post is linked to her site Ben and Me.
 
 
Join Marcy, me and others as we “ABC Blog through the Alphabet”.
 
I pray your life is filled with wonderful friends and family!
 
Joy to You!
One thought on “F is for……Friends and Family!!

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

