Homeschool Mother’s Journal – February 24, 2012

The Homeschool Mother's Journal
 

It’s time to share a little bit of life through The Homeschool Mother’s Journal.   Thanks for joining my journey!! 

In my life this week…
I realized this week how busy we are and also realized that things are not going to slow down for a while.  It’s ok as long as we keep things in perspective.  What are we busy with? 
  • Sunday: Regular Church Services
  • Monday: Co-op, allergists’ appointment for me and Violin Lessons for the teenager in the house
  • Tuesday:  Children’s Choir for my girl
  • Wednesday: Fellowship meal at church, AWANA for my girl (the hubby and I both work in TNT), and youth for the teenager
  • Thursday: I had to have a filling replaced – Ouch!, the teenager had to have a tooth pulled – Double Ouch!!  Then the kids went Square Dancing with some friends from church.  Square Dancing has become a weekly activity for them. 
  • Friday: I had lunch with a sweet friend to celebrate her birthday 
Whew!  I am tired just reading the list.  On top of all of this, we had a great week in our classroom AND the kids and I got up early every morning and walked the track in our church’s Family Life Center. 
 
In our homeschool this week…
It was a normal week.  I’m thinking that I need to add some projects or experiments to our weeks so that I have something to write about.    
 
I am inspired by…
Lysa TerKeurst!  She is an author, speaker and president of Proverbs 31 Ministries.  I enjoy reading her blog and this week it hit home!  She was writing about her kids and said that in their home before they speak, they are to ask if the words are “kind, necessary, and true?”  We have been dealing with just this around our home a little lately so this was refreshing advice to me.      By the way,  I am just as guilty as the kids in not speaking appropriately.  If you’d like to read this encouraging post by Lysa,  the address is:  http://lysaterkeurst.com/2012/02/words-2/ 
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
As mentioned last week, we met our cousins at Discovery Place in Charlotte, NC on Saturday.  What a cool place!  Not only did the kids love doing all the hands on science stuff, they also loved spending time with our cousins.
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
 It’s our first year and I think it’s going well but I wonder if I should be doing more!
 
Things I’m working on…
I have 6 doilies that came from a sweet family friend.  Her mom hand crocheted them so my guess is that they are around 70 years old; maybe older.  Anyway, I’ve wanted for a long time to frame them so I have began working on getting them mounted and in frames.  I hope to share the finished project soon.
 
I’m STILL reading …
Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp.  I haven’t had a lot of time to read this week; hoping next week is different.
 
I’m grateful for…
So much!!
 
I’m praying for…
Several extended family members who are dealing with medical issues and also sweet cousin who lost her husband this week.
 
Joy to you!
 
 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

