ABC Blogging through the Alphabet

  I am joining my friend Marcy over the next 26 weeks as she hosts  “ABC Blogging through the Alphabet” on her site.   There are weeks that I’d like to write more than my journal about our homeschool week but just can’t come up with anything to write about.  So I thought that this would be fun.  Here goes:             
  
 A is for ……….. AWANA!!
 
I love AWANA!
 
I love that my kids learn the importance of memorizing God’s Word in AWANA.
 
What is AWANA you might ask?  It is a program for ages 2 – youth where kids learn more about God with an emphasis on Scripture memory.  They work on memory verses at home and then recite them to the leaders during AWANA  each week.   
 
AWANA is also a great place to invite an un-churched neighbor or friend from school who might not be involved in a local body of believers.  According to AWANA’s website “Each week, more than 1.5 million kids ages 2 to 18 participate in Awana. Over 12,000 churches in the U.S. and more than 10,000 internationally run Awana programs that change young lives through biblical truth.”
 
WOW!!  That is an awesome number of kids being touched by the gospel every week.
 
I help out in the TNT program for 3rd to 5th grade at our church.  I absolutely LOVE listening to the kids say their verses that I know that have truly worked hard at learning during the week.  It is a joy to see them so excited to be learning God’s Word.
 
If you’ve never had the opportunity to be a part of an AWANA program, I highly recommend it.  Their website is filled with helpful information about finding an AWANA club’s all around the globe.
 
Joy to You!
 
 
 
 
4 thoughts on “ABC Blogging through the Alphabet

  1. I have to admit, Ben does miss AWANA a bit. But we have replaced it with ministering on Sunday evenings to a group of Burmese refugee children, teaching Bible and ESL.

    Now I just have to remember to do that memory work at home just for the sake of hiding the Word in our hearts ❤

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

