Homeschool Mother’s Journal – February 17, 2012

 Another entry in  The Homeschool Mother’s Journal…  
 
In my life this week…
We seemed busier than normal this week and yet, everything seemed to fall into place.  That’s a really good feeling!
 
In our homeschool this week…
It was a normal week until Friday.  We were supposed to go on a field trip but it was delayed until tomorrow (Saturday) so our day ended up being on the light side.  The kids didn’t mind that at all!!  And I have to admit that I enjoyed a lighter day myself.  My hubby is quite talented and has taught art in a school setting once or twice so today, the kids had art class.  They enjoyed their time with dad and did a pretty cool project painting 9 small canvases that, when combined, make one image.  Below is the finished project:
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Places we’re going and people we’re seeing…
Discovery Place in Charlotte, NC with our cousins.  This is our delayed field trip.  I’ll likely share about our trip next week.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Getting up a little earlier and walking with my kids.  Our church, that we happen to live next door to, has a walking track in the Family Life Center.  My kids decided that we should be exercising so we walked a mile 4 days this week, only missing Monday because the track is not open on Mondays. 
 
What’s working/not working for us…
I’ve been working on a schedule for us to follow for a while now.  It is finally done and it seems to be working.  Very excited about that!!
 
Questions/thoughts I have…
As summer draws near I am wondering what, if anything, I will do this summer to keep our minds working.  I’d love to hear what other homeschool families do during the summer.
 
Things I’m working on…
Not much this week.  Made a few handmade cards and had dreams of getting more cleaned out of what will be a sitting room some day but this just wasn’t the week to do it.  (sigh)  Maybe next week!
 
 I’m cooking…
While my friend was visiting, we made Chocolate, Peanut Butter Brownies.  They were delicious and EASY!!
 
I’m grateful for…
The Word of God!  I know I’ve said that more than once but I never grow tired of what God has to say to me through His Word and I am aware that this is a freedom and a privilege that not everyone in the world is afforded.
 
I’m praying for…
Many family and friends who are going through difficult times. 
 
The Homeschool Mother's Journal
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Joy to you!
4 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal – February 17, 2012

  1. Summer? Well, we joined 1-2 library reading programs for activities and reading challenges. The kids also go to camps – Scouting for the boys and Horse for the girl – and we spend A LOT of time picnicking at the lake and swimming with and without friends. We garden and hike and camp. No FORMAL learning, but still lots of education.

    Like

    • Thanks for the reply Jesse. Reading is definately on my list. I also thought about letting the kids be in charge of dinner one night a week. Everything from planning the menu to grocery shopping to cooking AND cleaning up (smile!).

      Like

  2. we keep schooling through the summer on a lighter schedule and add in some fun field trips where we can. we do take off the month of June though.

    love the art work! wish I had Kevin here to teach Ben!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

