Homeschool Mother’s Journal – February 3, 2012

 
 
In my life this week…
Am I the only one who has an on-going “To Do” list? 
 
My list has its own notepad.  While part of me thinks it’s crazy to have an on-going list, the other part
of me knows that it works.  This week, I marked 15, count them 15, things off my list!    Some were small but some items required a little more effort.  Some of the items were new this week but a few of them are things that have been on there for months.  There are few items that I would especially like to have done before March when dear friends are coming to visit.  It feels good to mark things off my list and even better to tear off a sheet and  move on to another in my “to do” notepad.
 
In our homeschool this week…
Last week I mentioned that it had just been a rough week.  I am thrilled, but not surprised,  to report that the Lord heard my prayers and this week was better.  We still had a few hiccups but all in all, it was a better week. 
 
The best part of the week is that it was in the high 60’s – low 70’s this week (in SC…in February!) so we took the opportunity to sit outside in the sunshine and read.   The kids have already asked if we can do everything outside when it is warm all day.  Not a bad idea!
 
Helpful homeschooling tips or advice to share…
I found two great things this week to help us out.  One is a 2 month trial subscription to www.aleks.com.  This is a Math help website.  Yeah!  There is a cost to join but since I wasn’t familiar with them, I am trying them for 2 months free.  The other great thing I found is www.englishgrammar101.com.  This is a website that gives practical help with grammar.  Because I am not an English teacher by training, I figure that this site will help me just as much as it helps my kids. 
 
I found both of these freebies on Freely Educate.  A friend shared their website with me and I have just loved the tips for free stuff from them.  If you’re not familiar with them, their website is www.freelyeducate.com .  I’d encourage you to check it out.
 
I am inspired by…
The moms in the co-op that we are a part of.  When we, as moms, are not teaching a class or volunteering somewhere in the co-op, we gather around a table and share our lives.  What a blessing to hear that other families struggle with the same things that I do!  It’s also great to get tips on curriculum, resources, etc. from seasoned home school moms.
 
My favorite thing this week was…
Sitting outside and reading with my kids.
 
Things I’m working on…
As mentioned above, we have friends from KY coming to visit in March.  The house is pretty tidy EXCEPT for one room.  It’s a room that used to be a garage and was enclosed by the former owners of the house.  It’s actually a wonderful space.  One end of the space is our school room and the other end is an open area.  I dream of this open end being a reading/sitting room.  Right now there are still boxes everywhere.  I am working on getting it cleaned out for our friend’s visit.  It helps to have goals, right?  I’m too embarrassed to post a photo right now of what is looks like but I may post one as I make progress or when it’s done!   I am also going to work on window treatments for my kid’s rooms this week. 
  
I’m reading …
Shepherding a Child’s Heart by Tedd Tripp.  I’ve wanted to read this for years.  I finally got a copy of it last year just as we were packing up to move to SC.  I found it this week so I decided that it’s time I read it. 
 
I’m grateful for…
The opportunity to study God’s word.
 
I’m praying for…
Friends and family dealing with sickness.  Also, for the kids in our church youth group and AWANA program. 
 
The Homeschool Mother's JournalI enjoy journaling  through  The Homeschool Mother’s Journal  each week;   sharing a little
bit of life with others.  If you have a chance to check out the other moms who also journal,
I guarantee that you will be encouraged and inspired!
 
Joy to you!
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

