Chairein

I am participating in Beth Moore’s James – Mercy Triumphs study with a wonderful group of ladies at my church on Sunday evenings.   During the second week, Beth pointed out the word “chairein”.  It is the original Greek for “Greetings” from James in James 1:1.  It means “joy to you”.
 
Joy to you!
 
Isn’t that a wonderful thought?! 
 
Joy is from the Lord; a gift that we, as Christ followers, have no matter the circumstance.  Yes, even in the trials.  James 1:2 says “Consider it pure joy when you encounter trials”.   Psalm 30:5  says “…Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning..”  It’s a gift amidst our trials and our sorrows.   If it’s a gift to us shouldn’t we pass it on?
 
I want my life to exhibit joy.  I want to pass it on to those around me.  I want to run around greeting people as I meet them and as I depart from them with “chairein”.  Come to think of it, this reminds me of our family vacation to Hawaii when I was in middle school (wow – that was roughly 32 years ago!).  The Hawaiian people say “Aloha” when they greet you and when they bid you farewell.  I still remember that I just loved to meet a native Hawaiian and be greeted with “Aloha”; it seemed contagious.  And shouldn’t “chairein” – the joy of the Lord be  the same way, contagious? 
 
So as you go through today, I pray that you would spread a little “chairein”!
 
Joy to you!
 
P.S.:  If you’ve never done a Beth Moore study, let me encourage you to do one sometime.  You will be blessed!
10 thoughts on “Chairein

  1. I love it! The joy of the Lord is my strength (Nehemiah 8:10.) I just completed week two of this study, and this word spoke to me most powerfully from the session. Beth Moore is such an enthusiastic teacher and leader. I really enjoy participating in her studies. Chairein!

    Like

  2. we are doing James at the moment..into 2nd week..and LOVING it !!! thank u for sharing about ur experience in this study.. God Bless xxx

    Like

    • Thanks for stopping by. I loved studying the book of James also. I hope that you find joy in your journey of this study. Such wonderful things that the Lord wants us to know! Blessings and “chairein” to you!!

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Good Life — Part 2 – Summer of Esther

  4. Pingback: Count It Pure Joy – Summer of Esther

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

