Homeschool Mother’s Journal – January 29, 2012

 
 
In my life this week the past 2 weeks… 
 
  
 
 
 
  
 
Sometimes I wonder where the weeks go; they just seem to be a blur.  This week the “blur” was caused by a sinus cold that, frankly, just had me in a sense of disorganization and non-motivation.  The week before found my daughter and my hubby sick, then it hit me.  I am happy to report that we are all on the mend but wow, do I feel drained.    In the middle of all the sickness; end of theirs, beginning of mine, we took a trip to Atlanta with my mom and my sister and her hubby.  Mom had given the kids a trip to Atlanta for Christmas.  The main reason for the trip (gift) was to take my daughter to the American Girl store.  My son chose his Atlanta outing to be the World of Coke.  We also ate lunch on Saturday at the famous Varsity restaurant.    That was my request.  Hadn’t been there in a long time so I thought it’s would be fun.  I’m happy to report  that it met my expectations.  
 
In our homeschool this week the past 2 weeks…
I’d be lying, and kidding myself,  if I said that the past two weeks had gone without tears.  We’ve had a few struggles.  This comes just after I wrote about how we were finally back in the groove of school after holidays and birthdays. I’d love to blame it on my feeling horrible but the honest truth is that we struggle because we are human and it’s our sin nature to want things our way, on our time.  I’m praying for a better week beginning tomorrow.
 
I am inspired by…
A dear friend and home school mentor.  In the middle of the above struggles, I sent her an email because I needed to vent.  In response, she sent me encouragement.  It was just what I needed to keep me going and not to give my classroom over to satan’s attempts to disrupt what I know I am called to do.
 
My favorite thing this week  (and last) was…
Watching my kids have Skype call with precious friends from KY.  Technology is a wonderful thing!!  AND time with my mom, my sister and her hubby.  Only thing missing was my nephew who is in college and had to work.  I love that we now live close enough to them, after 6 years of being 7 hours away, to be able to see them more often!!
 
What’s working/not working for us…
Not being on a set schedule is NOT working for us.  You know how God seems to sometimes allow the same topic to keep coming up.  Being on a schedule is that topic for me.  I need to formulate one, implement it, and stick to it.  I welcome advice on this one!
 
Things I’m working on I finally completed
I’ve had frames for 3 years to do collages of my sister and I growing up and also one of my kids in their early years.  This project was inspired by my sister-in-law giving us a collage of my hubby and his siblings one year for Christmas.  I bought matching frames after we received her gift and even hung them up, without photos.  I figured that if I hung them up, I’d be reminded that I needed to fill them.  Anyway, 3 years and 3 different houses later, I finally filled them.  I am so excited that they are done.  
 
I’m reading …
Choosing to SEE: A Journey of Struggle and Hope by Mary Beth Chapman.  I gave this book to my sister for Christmas.  She read it in a week; it’s taking me a little longer but I’m almost done.  What a testimony to the power of the Holy Spirit in the life of Mary Beth and Steven Curtis Chapman and his family. 
 
I’m grateful for…
My church.  Being a part of a fellowship of believers is a blessing and a gift.
 
I’m praying for…
Friends who are going through struggles and trials. 
 
The Homeschool Mother's Journal
 
 
 
Thanks for joining me and so many others as we journey and journal about our homeschooling blessings and adventures in The Homeschool Mother’s Journal    
 
 
Joy to you!
 
2 thoughts on “Homeschool Mother’s Journal – January 29, 2012

  1. I had a rough week, too…it seems many of my homeschool friends did. How we need to lift one another up in prayer!

    I am a mess without a schedule. Through the years I have found that a strict schedule w/ specific times, etc., just makes me more stressed. However, having goals and time-frames is essential. Chores & breakfast need to be done by 9:00, at which time we sit down for Bible time. That runs until about 9:30, then it’s on to school. Nothing else happens (except snack & lunch) until school is over. Doesn’t always work out this way…but most of the time it does.

    “Choosing to SEE” is an amazing book! Our faith is nothing unless we live it and the Chapmans live it!

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

