To Conform

What does it mean to conform?
 
Webster’s 1828 Dictionary has two definitions that I like.  They are:
  • Made to resemble; assuming the same form; like; resembling.
  • More generally, to reduce to a likeness or correspondence in manners, opinions or moral qualities.
Romans 8:29 says, “For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his son”.
 
This is my desire!  To be conformed to the image of Christ.
 
I didn’t fully realize back on December 15th when I wrote “I get it…..or do I?”  that I was really beginning my search for what it means to be like Christ. What a journey; to be like Christ.  My kids and I have been reading Titus during our Bible study time in our classroom this past week.  And I have just begun a Bible study on Sunday evenings at church on James.  What do I find in Titus and James?  Instructions for being more like Christ.  There are so many ways that I need to conform to the likeness of Christ. 
 
So where do I begin?  My attitude and my level of patience!  That’s just the honest truth!  Right out of Titus 1 – “not quick tempered”.  These are two areas that I need to work on.  It may take a while but the Lord has let me know that this is where I am to start.
 
How do I begin?  By reciting and, more importantly, praying Psalm 19:14 ~ May the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be pleasing to you, oh Lord, my rock and my redeemer.
 
Being conformed~
2 thoughts on “To Conform

  1. Excellent expression here, beautiful choice in words. I’ve been on a similar journey myself, but in an from a slightly different approach – to make sure I am not conforming to the opinions, practices and images of the world.

    I remember Christ also saying, that we will do greater works than Him. We ultimately will be just like Christ when you leave this life, according to the scriptures. Such a comfort right? It really makes me smile when I reflect on this.

    Like

Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

