Homeschool Mother’s Journal – Jan 13, 2012

The Homeschool Mother's Journal
In my life this week…
I became the mother of a teenager!  Where does the time go?  Seems like yesterday he was learning to walk; now he’s counting the years until he can drive.  We had a wonderful birthday week.  For his birthday, he wanted to get together with some family friends and watch The Princess Bride.  We had cake and a movie and a great time of fellowship with our friends. 
 
Our church is full swing into Upward Basketball season and with my hubby being the Children’s Pastor, we are spending a lot of time in the gym watching basketball practices and games and enjoying getting know the players and their parents.  What an opportunity for ministry we have during Upward season.
 
In our homeschool this week…
We’re back on schedule.  Yippee!!  Co-op is back in session on Monday’s and the rest of the week went well getting into our studies again.   The kids are enjoying working through Kay Arthur’s How to Study the Bible for Kids.  History has taken us to Greenland with Erik the Red and to Vineland (he didn’t know it was America when he landed there) with Leif Erikson.  Math has turned a corner for both kids in the new year.  That is a triumph for us!
 
I am inspired by…
Seeing my kids spend time in God’s word daily.  We’re doing the Kay Arthur study during our classroom time but they have both taken the challenge to read through the Bible in a year. 
 
Things I’m working on…
I completed the quilted case that I was working on last week for my Kindle.  For the first time to ever do something like this, not having a pattern & at the risk of seeming prideful, I think it turned out ok!
 
I’m reading …
The book of James to prepare to begin Beth Moore’s study on James on Sunday evenings at church.  If you want to learn about the mercy of God, read the book of James. 
 
 I’ve also started 1000 Gifts by Ann Voskamp and I am joining her in The JOY Dare for 2012.  The “dare” is to be joyful for 1000 things in 2012; finding 3 graces every day that bring you joy. 
 
I’m STILL listening to …
Knowing God by J.I. Packer that I found free on christianaudio.com and downloaded it to my Kindle. 
 
I’m grateful for…
A friend at co-op who prayed for me concerning a situation that I am dealing with in the middle of a crowded room.  What a blessing!!
 
I’m praying for…
Wisdom as a parent!
 
A photo, video, link, or quote to share…
This is the link to Ann Voskamp’s website to learn more about her JOY Dare, her book 1000 Gifts, or just to visit to be inspired and encouraged.  http://www.aholyexperience.com/ 
 
Have a joyful week!
 
Thanks for stopping by LivingMyPortion. I'd love to hear from you!

